Italian Style Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Exceeded my expectations. Even after reading the reviews, I was skeptical that it would be as good as everyone said. It's just meatloaf, right? But, really, this was SO good. My picky 3 year old even ate it. My 1 year old gobbled up seconds, and I had it reheated for dinner tonight, even better! Just don't add any more oregano than is called for, it'll be too over powering. I didn't have diced tomatoes, so I subbed a can of stewed tomatoes. Ate with mashed potatoes and steamed corn. A keeper, for sure! Also, I baked mine for an hour and 20 minutes, and drained the grease half way through baking, otherwise it would have run over and spilled all over my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was a great deviation from the normal boring meatloaf. I used sausage and pepper spaghetti sauce in place of the ketchup, used a can of crushed tomatoes, and used more cheese than what was called for. I also topped the meatloaf with some of the spaghetti sauce before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was pretty good, but not great. I wouldn't mind putting in some green peppers or something so it's a bit healthier. But it's delicious with noodles, bread, and big salad to balance it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
We have never been meatloaf people and this was my first time making one. Great recipe! Will make again and again. I added two gloves minced garlic, a half of diced onions, and parmesan cheese. I also used diced tomatoes with jalapenos instead of regular. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leasha1883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The only thing I changed was to use ro-tel tomatoes instead of canned diced tomatoes. It was very good. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allan47885

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a tasty meatloaf recipe. I agree with one of the other reviewers that it was a little greasy. Next time I make it I'll drain the grease half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great meatloaf! I think the cheese and diced tomatoes really made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
LOVED it! This was SO good, I made it pretty much exactly as written and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was so, so good, and I added a can of drained mushrooms too. To make it even better, I use Italian-style bread crumbs and marinara sauce in place of the ketchup. Not only was it good the first day, it made great sandwiches for work the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States