Italian Style Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Yum! I am so glad I found this recipe. I needed something fast and had to use what I had on hand and this worked like a charm! I used thawed flounder fillets, from my freezer. I changed it up a little in order to use what I had - 2 cloves fresh garlic, a little white wine, some salt & paprika, some mild salsa in place of the fresh tomatoes,a few leaves of fresh basil from my garden, and added green beens. After cooking for about 20 minutes, I uncovered the dish and sprinkled on some shredded mozzarella cheese and let it melt over everything. I WISH I had made rice to go with it because the liguid created by all of the ingredients was delightful and would have been so good over the rice. Next time... Thanks! With my changes/variations, I give 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
For what it is--very quick and very simple food--I give it a 4. Tastes good, not fabulous, but if you want great you better have more time and ingredients to spare (usually)! Added some fresh parsley on top, together with a little paprika and some red pepper flakes. Presented it with brown rice, steamed broccoli and a glass of wine...a decent and healthy meal I wouldn't mind making again! Oh by the way, 20 minutes is enough on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was great!! I made two adjustments based off of what I had on hand, I used 2 cloves fresh garlic diced, and a added a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomato. I really liked this! My husband and son thought it was ok, but I really enjoyed the flavor the seasonings gave to the tomatoes and the fish. I will definitely make this again! We served it with steamed green beans and linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My whole family loved this! Even my 8 year old (who never has seconds) asked for seconds and thirds! I will definitely fix this frequently. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Great recipe and very easy. I did cook all ingredients but the fish in the saucepan and I do add a splash of white wine before pouring over the fish and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Thanks for the nice recipe! Very simple. I think it is missing something from making it truly spectacular, but I don't know what that may be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We prepared the fish according to recipe, but then put it on aluminum foil and put it on the grill. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
i am new to cooking fish and wanted a quick easy recipe.. found it! i read some other reviews and decided to tweak it the first time. Had some sole fillets, so i used those. I also used olive oil instead of butter. Then in the oil mixed the diced tomatoes with fresh crushed garlic, crushed chili peppers, dill, basil, oregano, salt & pep. I wanted to use bread crumbs but didn't have any on hand, so i chopped 4 almonds very fine and mixed that in too! Broiled until flaky! Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Simple, quick and inexpensive. I found that 30 minutes was WAY too long for baking, but my filets were pretty thin. I didn't have tomatoes on hand, so I used homemade salsa instead and sprinkled some part-skim mozzarella cheese on top, it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was not good at all! The fish came out very mushy as others have said. It may be because I used frozen flounder. It was very watery and tasteless. It ruined our entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States