Italian Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Added fresh mushrooms and no water. Next time I'll double the chilli. Make sure to get the right pasta sauce, I used a mushroom sauce, not as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is my very favorite chili recipe ever! Last night for the first time I made it with leftover homemade spaghetti sauce and it turned out great as well! Just an all around wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Different and very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is FABULOUS! I made it once as no bean chili and once I served it over spaghetti noodles. Both times it was devoured by my family. I do add a little extra chili powder (and even some pureed yellow peppers when I have them), and I leave out the mushrooms as well. Easy to make and delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this with Boca veggie crumbles and added a can of great northern beans too. I used Barilla sweet pepper tomato sauce. Topped with Parmesan & cheddar. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this one night when I had some ground beef and spaghetti sauce to use but didn't want to make pasta. I made a number of changes (added fresh chopped green pepper and mushrooms, omitted the pepperoni and bouillon as well as the canned mushrooms, and spiced it to taste) but the basic recipe is a very good one and my family really enjoyed it. In fact, they have asked for it again! Also, I found it really did not need the water, but perhaps we enjoy our chili thicker than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
When I tasted this on the stove I wasn't sure I was even going to be able to eat it, but it does get better the longer it cooks. The cheese really helps also, even though the recipe forgets to tell you to add it. This would be a lot better without the sugar, because spaghetti sauce already has sugar in it, so this became way too sweet for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
My daughter and I loved this chili. I doubled the recipe and the only change I made was to use 1 pd ground beef and 1 pd spicy sausage. I cooked in a crockpot for a few hours. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I came across this recipe when I was looking for something to do with extra spaghetti sauce. I left out the ground beef and used dehydrated minced onion, so used a lot less, but otherwise tried to keep it the same ingredients. This is quite good, and so easy. I sliced up the pepperoni and fried it briefly to get rid of a lot of the grease; I'd definitely recommend that! Otherwise, it would've been too much grease in this. Overall, a nice, different chili that's great for a winter night with sandwiches or just bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love this! I added 3 cloves of garlic and used diced pepperoni. It's definitely different from a typical chili which I love - it means I can make both without chili overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States