Italian Style Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I thought the taste was a little bland on this, but because my husband is so picky I didn't add the peppers which I suspect would have helped. The thing about this that I loved was it was so easy to make. I put the liquid in the freezer while I was shredding the meat and then skimmed the fat from the top. I then put it back in the crock pot for about 30 minutes to reheat. I will make it again simply because my husband liked it and it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Delicious! I took the provolone cheese suggestion and toasted it in the toaster oven until the cheese melted. My husband and I loved it and eat it that way every time we make slow-cooked beef. My already-picky-4-year-old even likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My house smelled delicious for days. I served this on crusty vienna rolls, with the juices as an au jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I would definitely make this again--it was so easy and tasty. I couldn't find the pepper stir fry mix, so I just added a sliced green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These sandwiches turned out great. I followed the recipe as written and my family asked for seconds. There was enough meat leftover for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Excellent recipe! My family loves this served on Italian rolls with provolone cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
EXCELLENT! I was out of a seasoning mix I use and looking for a recipe that used the spices instead of a mix. Found this one and deviated slightly. I added an Aus Jur mix to the water and the last 30-45 min of cooking added some whole button mushrooms and served on the side with peppercinis. So good! Lot of broth left for soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Awesome! I used venison roast, and added an onion, cut in strips. It was awesome. No one could tell that it was venison. Absolutely no gamey taste at all. I slow cooked on high for about 5 hours, maybe a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Fantastic, easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
this has become my favorite recipe for italian beef, BUT i do not use the stir fry mix they suggest. instead i add a jar of mild pepperocini's with the juice, and it is the perfect thing to boost the flavor. i've made it without the pepperocinis too and it just wasn't the same. they make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States