Italian Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Very good, added some spinach and ricotta cheese to the mixture. Also, let it cook for 30 minutes before throwing the cheese on top and letting it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I've been trying to reduce the carbohydrates in my diet and this recipe really helped me on Friday night which is my family's "pizza night". The zucchini in this recipe is the "crust". First I sprinkled garlic powder on the scooped out zucchini shells. I substituted pizza sauce for the pasta sauce and I browned and crumbled italian sausage instead of using the frozen burger style crumbles. In addition, I only used half as much bread crumbs and twice as much parmesan cheese. It satisfied my pizza craving and I didn't feel like I missed my favorite food. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I assumed TVP is a generic term and used "no meat sausage", which I browned with green onions and musrooms. I followed someone's earlier advice and switched to a 4-cheese blend. And I couldn't find italian bread crumbs, so I put 2 slices of whole wheat bread in the blender. My family (and my son's vegetarian girlfriend) loved it. I'll be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
This was a great recipe for my homegrown zucchini. My daughter loved it. Instead of the burger crumbs I fryed up some mild italian sausage and it was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This was yummy! My family was skeptical, as the presentation isn't REAL attractive, but they agreed the taste was great! I used 2 cups of browned ground round, as we don't like the TVP. My zucchini were small, so I used only a small portion of the scooped out portion in the recipe. Even then there was quite a bit of leftover filling, which I baked separately. This recipe will be a great help when we are overrun with our garden zucchini! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Really, really good! Per other reviews, I baked the extra stuffing along side the stuffed zucchini. I also topped off the zucchini and extra stuffing with some mozzerela cheese the last few minutes of baking. Too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
We really liked this. I had leftover meat spaghetti & fresh mozz so I decided this would be good. I make my own bread crumbs & didn't even use the parm. Really tasty, I'll make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I modified the recipe alot but it was great I will definitely try it again keep it italian even rather than the Mex sytle my husband loved. I didn't have any TVP so I used ground beef left over from last nights burritos (already spiced and tomatoed) and Salsa in place of the pasta sauce, I left out the parmesan and it wasn't really needed with the salsa. Next time I'll try it Italian style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was a great, easy recipe. I added a bit of onion and garlic for more flavor as well as a small amount of hamburger meat instead of the meat substitute. thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Christian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
It turned out fine but would probably be better suited to a sweeter spaghetti sauce. I used my grandfather's saltier spaghetti sauce recipe which I think is better paired with meat instead of vegetables. Parmesean cheese always makes an Italian dish better though. I'd still make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States