Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I also have tomatoes up the ying-yang so I thought I would sub canned tomatoes for fresh in my chili. It turned out the best I've made, although it was a little runny, so I added a small can of sauce (to the chili). What I did differently was I left out the celery and added garlic. Then I sauteed the onion pepper & garlic in a tsp. of olive oil before adding the tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great stewed tomatoes. If they are too watery, keep cooking them. They will thicken. Good to eat as a sidedish or to use in a recipe such as chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this with canned tomatoes from my garden and used it for the Best Marinara Sauce Yet recipe from this site. This recipe and the one I used it for were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent flavor! My husband and son raved about them. I also added a crushed clove of garlic, and did not peel the tomatoes. They were a little watery, I just drained some of the liquid. Great way to use up all those tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made two batches one using your recipe and the other with a different one. Your was much much better. Very yummy. I did cook it without the lid on and for a bit longer so it was not to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Yummy! Just add a little tomato paste to thicken it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made a half recipe of these and used them in the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" (from this site). Very Yummy! UPDATE: I canned this recipe (the whole recipe, not half) in 500mL (16oz) jars and yielded 6 cans. I filled the jars with the tomatoes and veggies first, then topped it up with the liquid until the volume was level with the bottom thread of the jar. I processed them in a boiling water bath for 1 hour. When I opened my first can about 6 weeks later it was EVEN BETTER than when I made it fresh. The flavour was incredible! So I'm changing my review from 4 stars to 5 stars and I highly reccommend that you can this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I thought this was a very easy recipe. It turned out wonderful I added some fresh crushed garlic a little italian seasoning, oregano and basil. I canned it in my pressure canner and will have stewed tomatoes for the winter to add to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I added parmesan cheese and bread crumbs and then broiled for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States