Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made some of this recipe and canned it, very tasty. A tip I learned is to chop up the tomatoes and let them sit in a colander or big pot overnight or at least a few hours. The juice will seperate from the toms. The juice will then seperte like fat from stock. The top will be a bright red tomato sauce, the bottom is tomato water. Use the top sauce to cook the toms and discard the water or use it to cook rice, add to soup, make bread. It will last in the firidge for several days. The toms will cook down and thicken in half the time and less chance of scorching the pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Good recipe, especially since I have tomatoes coming out of ears! I did not peel the tomatoes (that is where a lot of the nutrients are!) I canned them, processed them and will now have fresh tasting stewed tomaotes throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made a half recipe of these and used them in the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" (from this site). Very Yummy! UPDATE: I canned this recipe (the whole recipe, not half) in 500mL (16oz) jars and yielded 6 cans. I filled the jars with the tomatoes and veggies first, then topped it up with the liquid until the volume was level with the bottom thread of the jar. I processed them in a boiling water bath for 1 hour. When I opened my first can about 6 weeks later it was EVEN BETTER than when I made it fresh. The flavour was incredible! So I'm changing my review from 4 stars to 5 stars and I highly reccommend that you can this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great stewed tomatoes. If they are too watery, keep cooking them. They will thicken. Good to eat as a sidedish or to use in a recipe such as chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I also have tomatoes up the ying-yang so I thought I would sub canned tomatoes for fresh in my chili. It turned out the best I've made, although it was a little runny, so I added a small can of sauce (to the chili). What I did differently was I left out the celery and added garlic. Then I sauteed the onion pepper & garlic in a tsp. of olive oil before adding the tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
very good flavor, but every time I make this it turns out runny....I have tried adding some flour and cooking it longer, and this seemed to help. A good basic recipe to start from :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
in my family we cook it all the time, we skip the basil and add garlic, fry the garlic in a little oil before the add other ingredients, we use it as pasta topping along with some cheese, add to eggs, or for a quick pizza top it on a slice of bread and add cheese and all you want on top and microwave it, its great on everything, you can also make it in small amounts using left over tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shireengool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent flavor! My husband and son raved about them. I also added a crushed clove of garlic, and did not peel the tomatoes. They were a little watery, I just drained some of the liquid. Great way to use up all those tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I actually wanted to make tomato sauce but didn't have the ingredients for other recipes so used this and pureed my tomatoes-skin, seeds and all in my new cuinsinart. I also added garlic and used fresh basil and a 1/2 teaspoon of italian seasoning. I just let it simmer w/o a lid for about 30 minutes and it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Yummy! Just add a little tomato paste to thicken it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States