Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I thought this was a very easy recipe. It turned out wonderful I added some fresh crushed garlic a little italian seasoning, oregano and basil. I canned it in my pressure canner and will have stewed tomatoes for the winter to add to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made a half recipe of these and used them in the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" (from this site). Very Yummy! UPDATE: I canned this recipe (the whole recipe, not half) in 500mL (16oz) jars and yielded 6 cans. I filled the jars with the tomatoes and veggies first, then topped it up with the liquid until the volume was level with the bottom thread of the jar. I processed them in a boiling water bath for 1 hour. When I opened my first can about 6 weeks later it was EVEN BETTER than when I made it fresh. The flavour was incredible! So I'm changing my review from 4 stars to 5 stars and I highly reccommend that you can this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
If it's too runny, try adding day old bread. That's the way my parent's made it. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Yummy! Just add a little tomato paste to thicken it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I actually wanted to make tomato sauce but didn't have the ingredients for other recipes so used this and pureed my tomatoes-skin, seeds and all in my new cuinsinart. I also added garlic and used fresh basil and a 1/2 teaspoon of italian seasoning. I just let it simmer w/o a lid for about 30 minutes and it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This smelled wonderful but it had a horrible aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent flavor! My husband and son raved about them. I also added a crushed clove of garlic, and did not peel the tomatoes. They were a little watery, I just drained some of the liquid. Great way to use up all those tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great stewed tomatoes. If they are too watery, keep cooking them. They will thicken. Good to eat as a sidedish or to use in a recipe such as chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I didn't especially care for these. I followed the recipe, though I did thicken it a bit at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States