Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good! I allowed them to cool and put them in freezer bags to use all winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
perfect recipe, didn't change a thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I am the only one who likes stewed tomatoes in my house and I ate the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNON91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I just "tested" a jar in Chili, my family loved it, no one spoke when we were eating, "means its good stuff", ..;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Good & easy. To deal with it being too "watery", I arranged the veggies in a donut shape in my pan, the liquid pooled in the center, and I simply sucked out the excess with a turkey baster. No problemo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyjollyberry
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I doubled the sugar, added 1/2 t. Italian herb seasoning, 1/2 t. crushed garlic, salt and freshly cracked pepper. I give it 5 stars after doing that.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
What attracted me to this recipe was the fact that it had no salt. I had read the reviews and noticed some said the end product was too watery. So, when I followed the instructions, the only change I made was straining the tomatoes and only using 2 cups of the juice. (I drank the rest. Refreshing.) It still turned out a bit watery, but that's fine. Once the jars cooled, I had to open one and try it. It was a bit bland (sweet maybe?). That was a bit surprising to me since I don't cook with salt. I added a tiny bit of sea salt and that made the difference. The next time I make this, I will reduce the sugar to 2 tsp and add 1 tsp sea salt. I think that will balance it better for my particular taste. The tomatoes are not squashy; they've managed to maintain a bit of firmness and the other veggies still have some crunch to them. All in all, this is very good. It is attractive to the eye, has an excellent texture, and very nice flavor. It was my first time ever canning, so I was afraid I'd mess it up. However, it was a positive experience. There was no specific processing time given, so I did a 15 min. water bath. I'm eating my second bowl of Italian Stewed Tomatoes right now. I was wondering if they taste better with age, after they've sat awhile and the flavors have blended. However, I don't think they'll last long enough to "age."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this with canned tomatoes from my garden and used it for the Best Marinara Sauce Yet recipe from this site. This recipe and the one I used it for were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I added parmesan cheese and bread crumbs and then broiled for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made two batches one using your recipe and the other with a different one. Your was much much better. Very yummy. I did cook it without the lid on and for a bit longer so it was not to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States