Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Made this recipe from about 40 roma tomatoes that a friend gave me. Instead of cooking this with celery and onion, I roasted the tomatoes at 300 for about 1 hour, just drizzled some olive oil, garlic and one medium sized green pepper. I put the entire mixture into my crock pot on low for about 4 hours; I added about 2 tbls of tomato paste. The sauce thickened nicely and my husband asked me if I would make some meat sauce out of it. I browned an onion and about 1 cup of sliced portabello mushrooms in olive oil; I also browned 1 lb. of ground buffalo meat and seasoned with a small amount of salt and ground black pepper and 2 tbls of Agave. My husband has some health issues and I can't use salt and sugar, so I substitute all the time. I've used buffalo many times before and it has a sweeter flavor than beef and is also much healthier. It has a better texture than ground turkey. I moved the tomato mixture from the crock pot to the big stew pot on the top of the stove and warmed them up for about 20 minutes. Served it over penne and made steamed broccoli as a side dish. We loved our dinner and I have two more frozen. It was a good recipe and I appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Just made this with lots of tomatoes from my garden. Only didn't add peppers, but did add garlic. Excellent!! I canned it after. And it was liquidy (of course, because the tomatoes were fresh!) so I just spooned it out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I got this recipe from a church cookbook years ago and love it. I don't use the basil, but do add 1/2 tsp salt. We use the tomatoes as marinara, or as a side dish. Great for canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
in my family we cook it all the time, we skip the basil and add garlic, fry the garlic in a little oil before the add other ingredients, we use it as pasta topping along with some cheese, add to eggs, or for a quick pizza top it on a slice of bread and add cheese and all you want on top and microwave it, its great on everything, you can also make it in small amounts using left over tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shireengool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Thanks for sharing such a healthy recipe. simple and tasteful. Is great served on toasted bread better known as bruschetta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great recipe! Thanks. I had a large box of tomatoes, all ripe, to use up. Wasn't in the mood for a pasta sauce but knew I had to do something to cook them down before they went bad. This fit the bill. I omitted the green bell pepper (didn't have one). I used fresh-frozen basil instead of dried. Served over rice and beans. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We had an ton of tomatoes this summer & I used this recipe to can some. I made 30 pints & we are now so enjoying our summer harvest. Thank you for the easy & very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frazer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good! I allowed them to cool and put them in freezer bags to use all winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
perfect recipe, didn't change a thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I am the only one who likes stewed tomatoes in my house and I ate the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNON91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States