Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I also have tomatoes up the ying-yang so I thought I would sub canned tomatoes for fresh in my chili. It turned out the best I've made, although it was a little runny, so I added a small can of sauce (to the chili). What I did differently was I left out the celery and added garlic. Then I sauteed the onion pepper & garlic in a tsp. of olive oil before adding the tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent flavor! My husband and son raved about them. I also added a crushed clove of garlic, and did not peel the tomatoes. They were a little watery, I just drained some of the liquid. Great way to use up all those tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Yummy! Just add a little tomato paste to thicken it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made two batches one using your recipe and the other with a different one. Your was much much better. Very yummy. I did cook it without the lid on and for a bit longer so it was not to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great stewed tomatoes. If they are too watery, keep cooking them. They will thicken. Good to eat as a sidedish or to use in a recipe such as chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made a half recipe of these and used them in the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" (from this site). Very Yummy! UPDATE: I canned this recipe (the whole recipe, not half) in 500mL (16oz) jars and yielded 6 cans. I filled the jars with the tomatoes and veggies first, then topped it up with the liquid until the volume was level with the bottom thread of the jar. I processed them in a boiling water bath for 1 hour. When I opened my first can about 6 weeks later it was EVEN BETTER than when I made it fresh. The flavour was incredible! So I'm changing my review from 4 stars to 5 stars and I highly reccommend that you can this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this with canned tomatoes from my garden and used it for the Best Marinara Sauce Yet recipe from this site. This recipe and the one I used it for were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I thought this was a very easy recipe. It turned out wonderful I added some fresh crushed garlic a little italian seasoning, oregano and basil. I canned it in my pressure canner and will have stewed tomatoes for the winter to add to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I added parmesan cheese and bread crumbs and then broiled for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States