Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
very good flavor, but every time I make this it turns out runny....I have tried adding some flour and cooking it longer, and this seemed to help. A good basic recipe to start from :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Good recipe, especially since I have tomatoes coming out of ears! I did not peel the tomatoes (that is where a lot of the nutrients are!) I canned them, processed them and will now have fresh tasting stewed tomaotes throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I also have tomatoes up the ying-yang so I thought I would sub canned tomatoes for fresh in my chili. It turned out the best I've made, although it was a little runny, so I added a small can of sauce (to the chili). What I did differently was I left out the celery and added garlic. Then I sauteed the onion pepper & garlic in a tsp. of olive oil before adding the tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Very easy recipe and taste was great. Didn't need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I didn't especially care for these. I followed the recipe, though I did thicken it a bit at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great stewed tomatoes. If they are too watery, keep cooking them. They will thicken. Good to eat as a sidedish or to use in a recipe such as chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent flavor! My husband and son raved about them. I also added a crushed clove of garlic, and did not peel the tomatoes. They were a little watery, I just drained some of the liquid. Great way to use up all those tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This smelled wonderful but it had a horrible aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I actually wanted to make tomato sauce but didn't have the ingredients for other recipes so used this and pureed my tomatoes-skin, seeds and all in my new cuinsinart. I also added garlic and used fresh basil and a 1/2 teaspoon of italian seasoning. I just let it simmer w/o a lid for about 30 minutes and it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Yummy! Just add a little tomato paste to thicken it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States