Italian Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I just "tested" a jar in Chili, my family loved it, no one spoke when we were eating, "means its good stuff", ..;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Good & easy. To deal with it being too "watery", I arranged the veggies in a donut shape in my pan, the liquid pooled in the center, and I simply sucked out the excess with a turkey baster. No problemo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyjollyberry
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I doubled the sugar, added 1/2 t. Italian herb seasoning, 1/2 t. crushed garlic, salt and freshly cracked pepper. I give it 5 stars after doing that.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
What attracted me to this recipe was the fact that it had no salt. I had read the reviews and noticed some said the end product was too watery. So, when I followed the instructions, the only change I made was straining the tomatoes and only using 2 cups of the juice. (I drank the rest. Refreshing.) It still turned out a bit watery, but that's fine. Once the jars cooled, I had to open one and try it. It was a bit bland (sweet maybe?). That was a bit surprising to me since I don't cook with salt. I added a tiny bit of sea salt and that made the difference. The next time I make this, I will reduce the sugar to 2 tsp and add 1 tsp sea salt. I think that will balance it better for my particular taste. The tomatoes are not squashy; they've managed to maintain a bit of firmness and the other veggies still have some crunch to them. All in all, this is very good. It is attractive to the eye, has an excellent texture, and very nice flavor. It was my first time ever canning, so I was afraid I'd mess it up. However, it was a positive experience. There was no specific processing time given, so I did a 15 min. water bath. I'm eating my second bowl of Italian Stewed Tomatoes right now. I was wondering if they taste better with age, after they've sat awhile and the flavors have blended. However, I don't think they'll last long enough to "age."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this with canned tomatoes from my garden and used it for the Best Marinara Sauce Yet recipe from this site. This recipe and the one I used it for were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I added parmesan cheese and bread crumbs and then broiled for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made two batches one using your recipe and the other with a different one. Your was much much better. Very yummy. I did cook it without the lid on and for a bit longer so it was not to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
If too runny, just add some cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I thought this was a very easy recipe. It turned out wonderful I added some fresh crushed garlic a little italian seasoning, oregano and basil. I canned it in my pressure canner and will have stewed tomatoes for the winter to add to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States