Italian Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Quick and easy to make and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great stuff. Ran out of store bought seasoning, made this up and used it in tomato-okra soup. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My husband makes great spaghetti sauce using store-bought Italian seasoning. He was feeling adventurous, so I tried making the seasoning using this recipe. The flavor was nice, but I'm sure it would have been better had the herbs been fresher (and therefore more flavorful). We liked the heat from the chile flakes. Unfortunately I live in an area where not all the spices I'm used to using can be found, so the only savory I could find was ground. I have given my rating based on how the recipe would have turned out had I had better ingredients. This one is definitely worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I love when you can mix up seasonings vs. buying them. I put this into my mini food processor and let it go. I left out the red pepper flakes because I always add that to taste in my recipes. Just store in a little tupperware container for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used dried coriander which I googled and found out is dried cilantro. This worked for what I needed today as I went to my spice cabinet and freaked out when I noticed I was out of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I cut it down to once serving. I wanted to test out the flavours of this before making a bigger batch as I've never seen red pepper flakes (or chili flakes, as they're called here) in an Italian seasoning before. Only substitutions made were parsley and sage in place of the cilantro and savoury. It was a nice addition in my burgers had I used more than that recipe called for. No more store-bought for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a fabulous all-purpose seasoning that we love to take camping. It's great on campfire potatoes, grilled char, and omelets, to name a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is very tasty and has a great kick to it. I put it all together and store. Then you can grind at the time you need to use it and the flavors are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This seasoning was easy to make and a lifesaving recipe bc it saved a trip to the store! Everything we needed was already in our spice cabinet, and my 3 year old loved counting out the scoops and pouring them in the container by herself! a memorable cooking moment for her. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilypitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
No need for the food processor. I put this mix into an empty aldi spice jar / grinder that used to have their herbs d'provence mix in it. This way, the mix is fresh ground whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States