Italian Scallop and Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm not so sure that I'll make this again. I like the recipe idea, I just don't think I cared much for the flavors blended together. I probably added a bit too much garlic and the oil was just too overwhelming for me. Perhaps if I tweaked it a bit for my own tastes I might be more gung-ho about it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
my mom and i made this for a picnic, and it was okay. we definatley needed to jazz it up a bit and tweak it. you need to really like shrimp and scallops though to even bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used mint instead of celery. It turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was excellent with a few alterations. I saute' the Bay scallops instead in 1 Tbsp. Butter and 1 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil combined. The Jumbo Shrimp I used were pre-cooked and I used 1/2 cup Olive Oil instead of Corn Oil and added Black Pepper, Oregano and 1/4 cup sliced Black Olives. I served this for my Appetizer/Cocktail Party and my company being garlic lovers absolutely was astounded by the flavor combination and loved it. This is definitely a keeper and it is a nice refreshing change for a summer salad :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made this tonight for dinner for myself and it is very flavorful! The only changes I made were that I had jumbo scallops that I halved and I sauteed the scallops, shrimp and peas in a tiny bit of butter and olive oil. Then just did the rest of the recipe as stated. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this recipe according to the directions, not making any changes and I thought it was absolutely tasteless. I have made many recipes from this site and I have never had a recipe turn out so bad. I served this at a family get together and everyone was in agreement. I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
this is a great salad ...AWESOME. i just added a 1/2 cup mix yellow and white cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Wow, this is very nice! I followed the recipe as written and I recommend this dish to all. I served it as a side dish instead of an appetizer and it complimented my BBQ meal very well. The celery leaves are a nice touch and adds a unique fresh flavour with the combination of parsley & garlic. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
LOVED THIS! If I could of given more stars I would have. Surprisingly delicious with only (8) ingredients! Love the fresh flavor of the celery leaves with the richness of the garlic-oil. I preferred SEARING the scallops in a tsp. of the set-aside garlic/oil (I used a light EVOO), used the shrimp to deglaze pan (the little bit of juice in the shrimp worked nicely for deglazing)and then mixed all. I enjoyed it warm, as well as chilled ...maybe even a little more. Will be making this for company soon! Thank you Lillian for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I know this recipes said to refridgerate overnight,but it tastes just as great after about 3 hours.Just mix well before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States