Italian Scallop and Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm not so sure that I'll make this again. I like the recipe idea, I just don't think I cared much for the flavors blended together. I probably added a bit too much garlic and the oil was just too overwhelming for me. Perhaps if I tweaked it a bit for my own tastes I might be more gung-ho about it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
my mom and i made this for a picnic, and it was okay. we definatley needed to jazz it up a bit and tweak it. you need to really like shrimp and scallops though to even bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used mint instead of celery. It turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was excellent with a few alterations. I saute' the Bay scallops instead in 1 Tbsp. Butter and 1 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil combined. The Jumbo Shrimp I used were pre-cooked and I used 1/2 cup Olive Oil instead of Corn Oil and added Black Pepper, Oregano and 1/4 cup sliced Black Olives. I served this for my Appetizer/Cocktail Party and my company being garlic lovers absolutely was astounded by the flavor combination and loved it. This is definitely a keeper and it is a nice refreshing change for a summer salad :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made this tonight for dinner for myself and it is very flavorful! The only changes I made were that I had jumbo scallops that I halved and I sauteed the scallops, shrimp and peas in a tiny bit of butter and olive oil. Then just did the rest of the recipe as stated. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this recipe according to the directions, not making any changes and I thought it was absolutely tasteless. I have made many recipes from this site and I have never had a recipe turn out so bad. I served this at a family get together and everyone was in agreement. I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
this is a great salad ...AWESOME. i just added a 1/2 cup mix yellow and white cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Wow, this is very nice! I followed the recipe as written and I recommend this dish to all. I served it as a side dish instead of an appetizer and it complimented my BBQ meal very well. The celery leaves are a nice touch and adds a unique fresh flavour with the combination of parsley & garlic. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
LOVED THIS! If I could of given more stars I would have. Surprisingly delicious with only (8) ingredients! Love the fresh flavor of the celery leaves with the richness of the garlic-oil. I preferred SEARING the scallops in a tsp. of the set-aside garlic/oil (I used a light EVOO), used the shrimp to deglaze pan (the little bit of juice in the shrimp worked nicely for deglazing)and then mixed all. I enjoyed it warm, as well as chilled ...maybe even a little more. Will be making this for company soon! Thank you Lillian for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I know this recipes said to refridgerate overnight,but it tastes just as great after about 3 hours.Just mix well before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States