Italian Sausage with Farfalle and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a HUGE hit with my family! Everyone loved it, from the 6 year old to the 50 year old. The only thing I did differently was substitute frozen broccoli for the rabe - could not find it locally. They even ate the leftovers with smiles on their faces - which is saying a lot. This recipe fed the 10 of us with about 2 helpings leftover, and was very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Really, really good! The changes I made were some of the same as other reviwers......added the parmesan at the very end to make it uniform and smooth.....added onion and garlic to the sausage. I also used regular broccoli, didn't have to cook it, just sauteed it with the meat and veggies. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 cream cheese (which made it amazing!) and added some basic Italian seasonings and served with garlic/cheddar biscuits. My family LOVED it (picky husband & 3 teens) and is taking samples to their friends. Can't wait to play with this recipe and make again, thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really good. Easy to make and fast. Don't precook broccoli rabe, but I did chop it up before putting into the pan. Also, I like Rotini Pasta since it is a little larger and holds the sauce. Also, a little too saltey for me so I trimmed down the cheese. In it's place I added sun dried tomatos for tast and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made a few substituions, and the sauce did not thicken....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I wasn't sure what kind of pasta I wanted for dinner tonight, but I ended up going w/ this one and you know what, this was EXACTLY what I wanted tonight! I wish I would've had the rapini on hand, but I didn't, so i used broccoli (yes, I know it's not the same, but it worked for me tonight). I waited until I tossed the sauce w/ the pasta (I only had rotini, so I went w/ it) before adding the parm. I also omitted the salt...I'm glad I tasted this before adding it b/c I did not need it at all. This really, REALLY hit the spot tonight. Def making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
very tasty and great for kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that has become a regular dish for us. We also substitute sausage with shrimp on occassion. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The whole family loved this recipe, we have two kids so I used mild sausage and left out the red pepper. Was still a tasty hit! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larose825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troutville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
A really good, quick, pasta dish! We like these brothy sauces in pasta dishes as it is a nice change from tomato-based sauces. I think it's a little heavy on the butter, so will reduce or leave it out next time. No need to add the salt. The broth can probably be reduced to 2 cups. Used regular broccoli since I had it on hand and it worked out great! Be sure to cook your pasta to JUST al dente so that it can soak up all that rich sauce from the pan. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Really delicious! Don't need the salt and served it over quinoa. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States