Italian Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very good! I use 'veggies for soup' frozen blend instead of the italian blend. I also added a small can of cut mushrooms. I loved it and so did my extremely picky husband! **Update** I've made this about 15 times now and I change a couple things to taste--I either use the "hot" sausage OR I use regular sausage (or ground venison) but add diced tomatoes with chilis...too hot when you use both. I try to use low sodium broth. I don't ever add pasta, my husband eats it with oyster crackers. I serve it with a green salad and sometimes crusty bread. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Awsome soooo simple & quick tastes even better when you heat it up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is very tasty, easy and satisfying - both the husband and I enjoyed it. I cooked some garlic with the meat and later assed fresh rosemary,thyme, basil..I used regular diced tomatoes and a plain broccoli/cauliflauer mix..as I could not find the Italian blend. I'll do the same next time but might try scaling back on the meat to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I didn't have Itlaian sytle tomatoes so I just added Italian seasoning. I also added a handful or two of pasta to give it a bit more hardiness. This was so easy and so yummy. For veggies I used a combo pack of zucchini, carrots, and greea beans - perfect. This one is a keeper says my 100% Italian husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a very easy meal. However I was confused. The picture shows what looks like egg noodles, but the recipe didn't call for any, so at the last minute I left them out. I also added 2 cloves of garlic, 1 can white (great northern) beans, and a tablespoon of Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was very easy and surprisingly good. Cooked sausage then just dumped everything into a slow cooker and let it simmer a couple hours til we were ready to eat. I did add a few cloves of fresh garlic and cooked some rotelle noodles al dente prior to dumping them into the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
soo soo easy, and soo soo delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Our family loved this recipe! I used turkey sausage, put some fresh spinich, leftover potatoes and added large butter beans. We have been eating it for 3 days, and it gets better each time. For a family who has just hit hard times this recipe makes it easy to serve a great, healthy, affordable meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
So easy, easy, easy to make and it tastes great! My mother and my mother-in-law both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Opt for fresh veggies rather than frozen if you have time. It's missing something. I am not a big fan of tomatoes, so in the future, I will use only one can and add an extra can of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States