Italian Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
VERY EASY! All you do is brown the sausage and then add everything all at the same time and then simmer it. The recipe does not specify how much and what type of pasta to use so I used about an 8 oz bag of Rotini (corkscrew style) pasta. Next time I will use 16 oz of pasta. It is very tasty, but it could use a bit more spice for flavor. I did not use the spicy Italian sausage, I think that would have made the difference. I did find it but, I had trouble finding the "Italian Style Vegetables". It consists of green beans, cauliflour, broccoli, carrots, lima beans and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very good! I use 'veggies for soup' frozen blend instead of the italian blend. I also added a small can of cut mushrooms. I loved it and so did my extremely picky husband! **Update** I've made this about 15 times now and I change a couple things to taste--I either use the "hot" sausage OR I use regular sausage (or ground venison) but add diced tomatoes with chilis...too hot when you use both. I try to use low sodium broth. I don't ever add pasta, my husband eats it with oyster crackers. I serve it with a green salad and sometimes crusty bread. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Awsome soooo simple & quick tastes even better when you heat it up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Terry likes this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Quite tasty! This is a great base recipe. For the minor variations, I used Hot Italian Sausage links cut into chunks, chicken stock in lieu of beef broth. Then I added 1/2 onion, 1 zucchini, oregano and garlic salt, and dried mushroom tortellinis. A cheese tortellini would have been better as I forgot to add the Parmesan. Nice and hearty; will make again! I used 32 oz chicken stock (as opposed to beef), added 1/2 onion, 1 zucchini, oregano and garlic salt. As far the bagged veggies, I found some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is very tasty, easy and satisfying - both the husband and I enjoyed it. I cooked some garlic with the meat and later assed fresh rosemary,thyme, basil..I used regular diced tomatoes and a plain broccoli/cauliflauer mix..as I could not find the Italian blend. I'll do the same next time but might try scaling back on the meat to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very simple and easy to make. I thought the amount of rice seemed like a small amount so I added 1 cup of rice and upped the chicken broth to 3 cups. Did not use okra(don't like) but added red peppers and sauteed them w/ the onions. I also used a different brand of sausage but overall liked the recipe. Only 4 stars because while it is tasty it is not to "die" for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I'd give this a 5 except I changed a lot to compensate for what I had on hand. I didnt have any preseasoned tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. I added my own garlic, thyme, basil, oregano, and pepper. I also used hot italian sausage. It came out soo so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I didn't have Itlaian sytle tomatoes so I just added Italian seasoning. I also added a handful or two of pasta to give it a bit more hardiness. This was so easy and so yummy. For veggies I used a combo pack of zucchini, carrots, and greea beans - perfect. This one is a keeper says my 100% Italian husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a very easy yet tasty and filling stew. I have made it both with pork sausage and with turkey sausage for a leaner option, and it is wonderful both ways. My major complaint is that it definitely needs seasonings and spices. I have added a large clove of garlic to a half-recipe, as well as some parsley, basil, oregano, and crushed red pepper, and that improved the taste significantly. Also, the "serving sizes" seem to be waaaaaaay off. When scaling the recipe down to what is supposedly two servings, it feeds my husband and I for three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States