Italian Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I didn't have Itlaian sytle tomatoes so I just added Italian seasoning. I also added a handful or two of pasta to give it a bit more hardiness. This was so easy and so yummy. For veggies I used a combo pack of zucchini, carrots, and greea beans - perfect. This one is a keeper says my 100% Italian husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I'd give this a 5 except I changed a lot to compensate for what I had on hand. I didnt have any preseasoned tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. I added my own garlic, thyme, basil, oregano, and pepper. I also used hot italian sausage. It came out soo so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very simple and easy to make. I thought the amount of rice seemed like a small amount so I added 1 cup of rice and upped the chicken broth to 3 cups. Did not use okra(don't like) but added red peppers and sauteed them w/ the onions. I also used a different brand of sausage but overall liked the recipe. Only 4 stars because while it is tasty it is not to "die" for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is very tasty, easy and satisfying - both the husband and I enjoyed it. I cooked some garlic with the meat and later assed fresh rosemary,thyme, basil..I used regular diced tomatoes and a plain broccoli/cauliflauer mix..as I could not find the Italian blend. I'll do the same next time but might try scaling back on the meat to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Quite tasty! This is a great base recipe. For the minor variations, I used Hot Italian Sausage links cut into chunks, chicken stock in lieu of beef broth. Then I added 1/2 onion, 1 zucchini, oregano and garlic salt, and dried mushroom tortellinis. A cheese tortellini would have been better as I forgot to add the Parmesan. Nice and hearty; will make again! I used 32 oz chicken stock (as opposed to beef), added 1/2 onion, 1 zucchini, oregano and garlic salt. As far the bagged veggies, I found some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Terry likes this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Awsome soooo simple & quick tastes even better when you heat it up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very good! I use 'veggies for soup' frozen blend instead of the italian blend. I also added a small can of cut mushrooms. I loved it and so did my extremely picky husband! **Update** I've made this about 15 times now and I change a couple things to taste--I either use the "hot" sausage OR I use regular sausage (or ground venison) but add diced tomatoes with chilis...too hot when you use both. I try to use low sodium broth. I don't ever add pasta, my husband eats it with oyster crackers. I serve it with a green salad and sometimes crusty bread. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
VERY EASY! All you do is brown the sausage and then add everything all at the same time and then simmer it. The recipe does not specify how much and what type of pasta to use so I used about an 8 oz bag of Rotini (corkscrew style) pasta. Next time I will use 16 oz of pasta. It is very tasty, but it could use a bit more spice for flavor. I did not use the spicy Italian sausage, I think that would have made the difference. I did find it but, I had trouble finding the "Italian Style Vegetables". It consists of green beans, cauliflour, broccoli, carrots, lima beans and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States