Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I subbed escarole in place of the spinach, but I think next time I'll just stick to the spinach as the escarole got kind of gooey. I also subbed chicken broth in for the beef broth and I really liked this substitution! Very hearty soup with slit of veggies. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mahler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This soup was fantastic! Followed recipe exactly. Family overdid a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is an extremely delicious and easy soup - one you can make on a weeknight! I always make a new recipe exactly as written the first time, as a baseline. I don't play with it until I've seen what the original is like. My only difference with this recipe is that I doubled the ingredients so I could freeze it (I read that it freezes well). I doubled everything, but thought it needed a third can (instead of two) of Italian recipe stewed tomatoes, and that made all the difference. Next time I'm going to try Rotel to see what happens. I also think this soup benefits greatly from a longer cooking time if you can do it, because the flavors got more depth after 45 minutes uncovered. Just don't add the spinach until the last five minutes, because that must "cook" in the already hot soup with the lid on. I will be making this recipe again and again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good soup. I wanted to drain fat from sausage first because I used pork sausage so made small sausage balls first and pan fried and drained on a paper towel. Also I didn't have spinach and substituted thinly sliced kale instead and so put that in with the zucchini as it has to cook longer than spinach. I shared 1/2 soup with a neighbor taking care of an ailing husband and she raved about it too. Thanks Sally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I loved this soup!! It was hearty with lots of flavor. Before sautéing the sausage, I took it out of the casting. I also added exact fresh garlic, orzo & used fresh spinach & kale mix instead of just spinach for exact taste. Have exact beef broth ( low salt ) on hand for any soup leftover, because the orzo absorbs the liquid overnight:) it was so Ymmmy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAYLF67
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Just wow, so easy and so hearty. I love garlic so I used 5 cloves, haha. I followed the directions to the letter for the rest, all fresh veggies, and I bought sweet Italian sausage from the deli counter. I forgot to buy it, but I think garnishing with fresh parmesan cheese would be delightful :-) I plan to make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYLF67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This soup was delicious and easy to make. There was no spinach at the store so I used red chard. I doubt you could tell the difference. This is a good main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was so good! I did change a few things for my preferences. I added additional garlic powder, a couple splashes of red wine, 1 more can of broth, and a can of kidney beans. My 7 year old ate 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Easy, healthy, delicious. We had Jennie-O sweet italian turkey sausages which we used in this recipe and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I don't usually comment on here but this soup was wonderful! I was surprised to like it so much. I made the recipe exactly but for one extra clove of garlic (garlic lover!). I will definitely make this soup again. It's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States