Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I tweaked the recipe by adding chopped onions and celery. I softened the vegetables in the fat rendered from browning the sausage. Added an additional can of diced tomatoes, a tablespoon of dried Italian herbs and a bay leaf. Increased the stock to 32oz. I left out the salt since the canned beans were not rinsed and drain. The soup was wonderful. My husband said it was the best soup he had tasted in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made numerous times as is. Except omit extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Love this soup. Better on day 2 so I prepare a couple days ahead. So easy to make. I do add a little extra veggie and use turkey sausage to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
ok this was REALLY good! I did have to tweak the recipe to go along with what I had on hand.... so goes, sautéed onion, garlic and celery along with sweet Italian sausage. Used about 1/2 a container of beef broth. Used fresh spinach and 1 can of diced tomatoes. Had to use a pablano pepper up before it went bad, so threw that in to off set the sweetness of the Italian sausage. Threw in about 1/2 bag if cheese tortellini. Let it simmer till the biscuits were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this for a church soup supper and everybody loved it, I made 3 changes I added chopped onion and pasta oh yea and I had to triple the recipe. I also had to give out the recipe to several of the families that were there. This is a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Easy and 3 of 4 family members loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terreva
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
It's was the BOMB! Next time I'll use mild sausage as it was a little too hot for hubby. Served it with crusty bread and a glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terreva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I left out the zucchini; used link Italian sausage. It was AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa Suggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This Soup Is So good. I did make a few changes I used chicken broth instead of beef and I used frozen chopped spinach and I used 2 hot sausage links to . did not add zucchini. It is so yummy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made this soup last night for supper and it was wonderful. My husband commented several times how good it was and he's not a foodie like I am. I doubled the recipe so that I could freeze some for later and other than that, the only changes from the original recipe I made were: used half beef broth and half low-sodium chicken broth and I omitted the salt (because of comments of other reviewers...oh, and I was a little heavy handed on the garlic.) Eating the soup alone, it could have used a little salt but it was fine without. (Not knowing how salty my sausage was, I didn't want to overdo it and could add it at the end, if necessary.) Since we typically eat soup with crackers, we didn't need additional salt. Changes I would make the next time I make it: add more beans or pasta. We like a thick, hearty soup and additional beans or pasta would thicken it up a bit. If I have extra spinach, I will add it. Not that it needed more, but anytime I can add more greens is a bonus. We like our foods spicy at my house and considered using half sweet Italian sausage/half hot Italian sausage, but I'm not a huge hot Italian sausage fan. May try adding a little cayenne the next time...but it is delicious as is! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States