Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made this last night and it is sooo good - used half Italian sausage and half Italian chicken sausage - used fresh tomatoes that I had frozen this summer - will definitely be making again this winter! (Two days later, we had leftovers and I had some leftover cooked red potatoes so I cut them into fourths and put in the soup - yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Family favorite. We make it at least once a month, and I usually use some chicken breast along with sausage -- absolutely delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was so good! I really wasn't expecting a lot from it because I rarely cook tortellini and I used canned peeled tomatoes. (Since they're not in season I didn't worry about sacrificing the fresh for canned. I also didn't add the zucchini.) I purchased ground sausage instead of having to remove the casings, I used dried herbs for the fresh... Anything to make this easier. Like I said, I wasn't expecting a lot. But Wow! What a surprise. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds. Definitely a do over. I served it with Italian bread. I may consider adding spinach next time but that's just a thought. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy LaPorta Rainwater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was excellent! I used spicy sausage instead of sweet sausage, but think either would work well. I also added some mushrooms and leeks that I had and wanted to use up. I did blanche roma tomatoes to get the skin off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Delicious!!! Made it spot on! Served with fresh baguette bread!! Perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Turned out great. Boyfriend loved it and it wasn't difficult or too time consuming. Boyfriend doesn't like zucchini so next time I will replace the zucchini with celery. It didn't need to simmer for an hour. Next time I will try throwing everything into the pot at the beginning and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made the recipe just as written except for the water added just a little more beef broth. Toasted some french bread, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cameron Moody
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used a little bit more than a pound of sausage, and if I did it again, I might use even more. So if you have more than a pound on hand, don't be afraid to use it all. Also, I personally prefer chopped baby carrots to sliced carrots in soup (more meaty carrot pieces). Other than that, this recipe is perfect. A day or two after cooking this, you'll notice a lot of built up oil and fat from the sausage. This can be easily skimmed off because it builds at the top. Skimming the fat while the pot is cooking can be very difficult, but it is very easy later and really helps keep the soup smooth. The soup has plenty of flavor without it, so don't worry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron Moody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Soooo good. I used spicy Italian sausage. I couldn't believe how tasty this soup was without adding salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States