Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I varied the recipe slightly based on what I had on hand. Because fresh tomatoes are generally horrible this time of year, I substituted a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes; substituted half a diced fennel bulb for one of the zucchini; used a rich chicken stock instead of the beef broth; dried tortellini for fresh; and substituted dried Italian seasoning for the basil and oregano. Finally, I sauteed the sausage starting in a cold dry pan simultaneously with the onions and garlic (a Chef John trick, BTW)and added the wine first, allowing it to evaporate before adding the broth. All in all, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Husband loved it, and ate left over a for days :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I had no idea of what to cook, and then I run into this wonderful recipe! My charming husband rushed out to the local store and purchased the fresh ingredients that were needed. This soup really hit the spot for my picky eaters, and my husband who loves most thing that I cook. This recipe is worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
excellent dish... I will say I did not add the tortellini, as I personally do not care for pasta.. so I added extra vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yummy and I followed recipe very closely (except I like garlic so I used a bit more). I highly recommend this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Wow, just wow. This was sooooooo good. Added some mushrooms and used homemade chicken broth because we were out of beef broth. We loved it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Good... I didn't add the red wine, so maybe that's the additional star. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This soup is FANTASTIC!!! I used a big can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, added mushrooms and spinich. I also cooked the pasta seperate, based on others reviews. This is a keeper! Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This soup is amazing! I added a large cubed potato and a can of great northern beans for the extra fiber....very, very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This gets a 5 for taste and a 3 for preparation directions. And hour to cook, really? I had mine ready in 30 minutes from start to finish, only boiling/simmering the carrots and pasta. I also used one tomato, 4 would have been overkill. Skipped the wine and zucchini to appeal to my daughter. And lastly, I used mostly reduced sodium broth with a bit of regular, I think next time I will use completely reduced sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States