Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Good but not great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kewpee Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
FABULOUS! Ok I'm the type of cook that doesn't really measure and I have a hard time following the recipe EXACTLY, its just one of those things, thats why I usually don't rate anything. Well I made meatballs from 93% ground beef mixed with sweet italian sausage and browned them. Then I sauteed the garlic, onion, carrots and some celery together, then added the sliced yellow and green zucchini and added italian seasoning and little sea salt, sprinkled a little corn starch on everything (so it would be a bit thinker) and mixed in 2 cans diced tomatoes. By accident I used canned tomatoes with diced with green chilis but I LIKE the little spice it gave. XTRA wine and a can of tomato sauce. YUMMY!!!!!! PLEASE Don't get me wrong... I am not saying this is better than the original recipe, I just like what happened in my kitchen as I started to cook. and wanted to share. ITS A KEEPER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OMG! This soup is amazing. The flavor in this soup was so rich and hearty. This is perfect for fall and winter but I will make it year round for sure. This recipe will be used oftern. I followed the instructions except for the tomatoes. I used a large can of whole pear toms in juice (did not use the juice). The tomatoes at the store were not looking good. It is a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gariharmison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OMG!! This was fabulous. My husband is a meat and potatoes guy and was not crazy about the idea of having soup for dinner. BUT, he loved it and wants to have it again regularly. I used Italian turkey sausage and added a few frozen turkey meatballs, deleted the squash and added some fresh corn cut off the cob. It was spectacular. I am going to serve it for a ladies party that I am having next week instead of a boring chicken casserole. This is the ultimate comfort food. Thanks for sharing. I served it with garlic bread and fresh greens salad. FORGOT to mention that I used no salt canned tomatoes and low sodium beef broth and it was seasoned just right. Not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe was so wonderful!!! Made a few small changes - instead of wine since I can not have any I used cranberry/apple juice and there was no difference. To save time I also used diced tomatoes and minced garlic from a jar. Otherwise everything else stayed the same. When I have more time I will use everything fresh and see if there is a difference in the taste. My husband loved this and it has been added into our recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
OMG! This is great my first time making a homemade soup and what a way to start. My only down fall is I should have cut the recipe in half made a lot more than I expected. I did use roma tomatoes because this is not tomatoe season and the roma's looked a better nice and red. I used the technique one of the reviews gave for easy peeling. Thanks. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent as is printed in the recipe. Tried this soup and it was absolutely delicious. If you like these ingredients, you will love this soup. AD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yokai
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Love it!!!! I omitted the carrots, but added 2/3 cup of rice. OMG. Delish. This is a hearty soup perfect for a winter night, day, or anytime! This is definitely food for the gods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yokai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is awesome, very flavorful. I used 20 oz Italian sausage, only because that's how it was packed. I also make the soup (without pasta) the day before I want to serve it. It really improves with a day's rest. Then I add the pasta right before I serve. The pasta will sop up all the broth if left in for a long time. I also tried it once with just plain penne pasta, not tortellini. Very good, but WAY better with tortellini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
OMG!!! This soup is amazing! I am stopping mid-bite to write my review. The only changes I made were that I used spinach instead of zucchini, because hubby doesn't like zucchini. I didn't have red wine, so I didn't use it, subbed water. That's it, and it was/is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States