Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum! Yum! Yum! Great recipe. I am making more broth so that I can easily complete the soup for future dinners. I have a lot of extra red wine to use up and don't drink it! (Migraines unfortunately!) I had a soup night party and served this along with two others, it was a huge hit! A couple of things I will adjust next time, I won't cook the tortellini in the soup but will likely do it in water and beef broth so it still has the flavor it would have cooked in the soup. I will keep the two separate and put them together for each bowl. When the tortellini sits in the soup it starts to swell and soften, absorbing too much broth over time, it was also hard to divvy out the sausage with the big tortellini getting in the way. Not great for leftovers or when you have a soup pot on the stove for seconds (and thirds). I also added extra veg because that is what I always do and may add even more variety next time. I added green beans and a yellow squash but plan to add some chard and maybe some mushrooms). I used fresh tomatoes as the recipe calls for, tomato paste and water instead of canned sauce (better flavor) a big spoonful of sun-dried tomatoes from a jar I keep in the fridge and some additional herbs - bay leaf and rosemary. I didn't have wine so asked my sis to pick up a bottle on her way over. The soup was pretty bland without it and I was shocked at how much richer and more complex it was from this small addition. My suggestion, don't leave the wine out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Had to substitute one thing: My daughter doesn't like chunks of tomato in anything, so I didn't add the tomatoes, but instead of the can of tomato sauce, I added 2 cans of tomato paste and 2 cups of water. I also chopped up 1-1/2 cups of kale and added it to the onions as they sauteed. I was concerned about the 1/2 cup of wine, because when I put it in the soup looked pink, but it cooked down. OMG - (with my replacements) this recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Absolutely terrific!!! The whole family adores it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Wow. My husband and I both really, really liked this! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Fantastic soup! Went exactly by the recipe except for: I substituted turkey sausage for less fat and raw spinach for the zucchini b/c I just prefer that instead. The fresh basil gives it such a rich amazing flavor. I also made 2 batches: one bath with gluten free rice pasta rigatoni and one batch with 3 cheese tortellini. Both were spectacular! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the wine...... absolutely delicious!! My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made exactly according to the recipe and it couldn't have been better. The only change was using canned tomatoes instead of fresh. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made exactly like the recipe and it was delicious. Perfect for a cold winter night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is so good!! Made as is. Goes great with a nice glass if red wine. Wonderful recipe. I almost licked my bowl clean...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made the recipe as written, plus the addition of spinach. Absolute perfection. One of the best soups I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States