Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe. It is really worth it to use fresh tomatoes instead of canned. This recipe takes awhile, but it is worth it. I usually save it for a Sunday since during the week it is hard to have enough time to come home and prepare it after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish, Montana, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Very good. I made some subs because of that I had on hand. I think it would be better if you stuck to the main recipe which is why I gave it five start. It really is excellent. I didn't have fresh basil (hard to find in January, so I used dried basil and parsley. Fresh herbs are ALWAYS better if you can get them! I added and extra cup of broth because of some of the other reviews which I think was a good choice. I didn't have zucchini so I just had the carrots and fresh tomato. I would NOT used canned tomato in this recipe personally. But this was still good because there was a lot more broth and the flavor of the red wine and broth is DIVINE! I used pesto tortellini. My husband LOVED that, but I think I would have liked cheese better. Though with the fresh basil pesto might go pretty well~ Overall, fantastic recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It's a hit!! Made this soup and everyone loved it. Very easy to make wouldn't change a thing. Had great taste, was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was delicious! I used Hot Italian chicken sausage instead of the sweet italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Extremely flavorful! Don't agree with prep time, however, especially considering I had another person helping me. Thankfully it was worth the wait!!! Might dice instead of slice zucchini next time. Kinda fell off the soup spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this yesterday and it turned out super. I un-cased the sausage and put it into a mixing bowl. I used a stiff spatula to knead it for a couple of minutes. Somehow this makes is snappy. I made two 1/2 lb. 6 inch patties and seared them in an untreated skillet. Went back to the soup and had to add a little olive oil to sauté the onions and garlic. When I got to the point that I wanted to add the sausage the patties had cooled a little. I stacked them one on top of the other and cut them into bite sized pieces. I was amazed that they stayed together in spite of being rare inside. I added them to the soup and followed the directions. When the soup was done the bite sized pieces cooked up nicely in the simmering broth. I though it added a nice visual effect to the soup and I also like the snap when you bite into the pieces. Thanks Mary P for a great recipe and to the folks from Cook's Illustrated for bringing this method of treating pork sausage to my attention. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic! The whole family loved it. It's definitely worth doing all by scratch. However, it did take me longer than the 20 min. prep time that the recipe stated--probably twice that much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is fantastic! When you make it don't change anything. I did use Italian sausage tortellini. My son said it tasted like stouffers sausage French bread pizza in liquid form. :) just perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used 6 small-medium links of mild Italian turkey sausage (next time I will use spicy Italian sausage). I used all dried seasonings and canned diced tomatoes. I used 3 cans of beef broth (6 cups) low sodium and thought this was the perfect amount of salt (might be too salty for some- that's how I prefer it). I didn't add water or wine and could not tell the difference. I also omitted the zucchini and added spinach towards the end. Great way to get veggies in and stay full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wow! what a lovely soup.THE RECIPE was right on. Changes I made were minimal. had some chicken stock left added that to the beef stock. added fresh mushrooms and spinnach. Did not have fresh parsley used fresh celantro. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States