Italian Sausage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This recipe is great! I made a few substitutions/additions that really make it come to life: -Zucchini instead of carrots -Add 1/2 teaspoon tarragon (this balances the spice) -All fresh herbs -Double the amount of crushed red pepper -Extra basil!! -Extra Garlic!! -Add to the soup a couple slices of dried porccini mushrooms in a tea strainer while simmering (adding this to any italian soup/sauce greatly enhances the flavor) -Remove the zucchini after stir frying, and then add it to the soup at the same time as the noodles--this keeps the zucchini from getting super mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was a great tasting filling soup. I cut the oil in half as well as the sausage but I doubled the beans....one can of red and one can of white.I even added some zucchini that I had in the fridge. I am sure I will make this again. Thanks DOLAN1031!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Amazing soup! Made the recipe with only minor changes... used chopped carrots, added a bay leaf and an extra stalk of celery. Sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Again simple wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Awesome and simple recipe. Since I don't like kidney beans, I added chick peas instead. I served it with warm asiago cheese bread and a simple salad. It was phenomenal! This recipe is an instant family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very good. I changed it a bit due to lack of ingredients and left out the celery and swapped the carrot for sweet potato. Fab! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This soup was really good! It reminded me of minestrone soup with Italian sausage in it. It got even better the second day. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Instant classic for our house. I made a whole recipe and after eating one bowl, watched my friend eat the entire rest of it in less than 24 hours. We ate it with a fresh loaf of sourdough bread, which was good for dipping in the soup and soaking up the remainders. I didn't think the pasta shells were especially necessary -- I may leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
EXCELLENT soup..highly recommend. I have never made a soup with sausage before and am pleased I chose this recipe to try. The ingredients blend together beautifully. This will taste even better the second day, I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Had to use up sausage in the fridge - had all the ingredients on hand for this except for carrots. Very quick/easy to make and delicious! Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was pretty good although I did add an additional can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States