Italian Sausage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was excellent! I used white kidney beans (cannellini) that's all I had, with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was great! I added portobella mushrooms, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This soup is awesome! It has become a family staple on cold days. You can vary the type of sausage you use depending on how spicy you make it. I have cooked it both on stove top and crockpot. Both work well. Agree that pasta needs added near serving time or it does swell, but still taste very good. Try switching it up by adding squash. Or even fresh spinach at the end just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Delicious! I agree it could use more celery. Also, the suggestion to cook the pasta separately is a good one, otherwise, the pasta sops up too much of the tasty broth. For those who don't like heat, leave out the dry peppers or you'll find it much too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very good recipe. Pasta does balloon when left in liquid. Might be good to cook pasta seperately and add to soup per serving. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was so easy and so filling on a cool Fall night! My husband and 8 year old loved it, but the 6 and 4 year olds were unimpressed, but since it wasn't McDonalds that doesn't surprise me. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I ended up using turkey sausage and it was still tasty, though a little more salty than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
They only thing I did different was I used tarragon instead of rosemary and northern beans instead of kidney beans because that is what I had on hand. Served this to my company and they ate it up. I will use this often this winter. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This recipe is great! I made a few substitutions/additions that really make it come to life: -Zucchini instead of carrots -Add 1/2 teaspoon tarragon (this balances the spice) -All fresh herbs -Double the amount of crushed red pepper -Extra basil!! -Extra Garlic!! -Add to the soup a couple slices of dried porccini mushrooms in a tea strainer while simmering (adding this to any italian soup/sauce greatly enhances the flavor) -Remove the zucchini after stir frying, and then add it to the soup at the same time as the noodles--this keeps the zucchini from getting super mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was a great tasting filling soup. I cut the oil in half as well as the sausage but I doubled the beans....one can of red and one can of white.I even added some zucchini that I had in the fridge. I am sure I will make this again. Thanks DOLAN1031!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States