Italian Sausage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jak rico
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used jimmy dean sausage. Great flavor and simple 2 make. I left boiling a little longer then needed make sure the carrots would cook. Mistake lost the soup base. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This soup was easy to make and has a lot of flavor. I didn't even add salt and pepper. Delicious! Quick enough to make for a weekday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was very easy to make, I had all the ingredients on hand and it turned out beautifully! I did take some other people's advice though and I cooked the shells separately and then added them at the end, I also snuck quite a bit more crushed red pepper into the mix... gave it a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swanton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Excellant !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very good ! A definite keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This soup was awesome and definitely a keeper. The flavors were great. I didn't have kidney beans and used cannellini beans instead. I used a combo of chicken and veg broth too. My picky kids cleaned their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This soup was great. I added some extra broth though, as the pot looked a little light on liquid. Also, I didn't have any shells on hand, but I had bowties and orzo. When it came time to add the pasta, I chose the orzo because the bowties may have absorbed too much of the liquid. In the end, the orzo was the right decision. To everyone that complained about the pasta, try orzo. They plumped, but not too large (about the size of long grain rice), they absorbed the flavor really well, and had a nice texture. I used about 1-1/2 to 2 cups eyeballed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
SO good! While Mary P's Italian sausage & tortellini soup and Perri Pender's slow cooker Italian sausage soup are still my favorites, this certainly gives both a run for the money! What I like about this is the spice blend. My kitchen smelled like Thanksgiving and evoked thoughts of some of my favorite seasonal dishes (my hubs commented that the whole house smelled like I was preparing a batch of homemade stuffing and roasting a turkey in the oven!). :) For this reason alone, I'll be making this a "day after Tday" tradition! Although nearly perfect as is, I couldn't resist the urge to make a few changes.... Because I had it, I added a few glugs of red wine (cabernet). I also used half chicken, half beef broth (I thought beef broth would help bring out the flavor of the red wine). I subbed cannellini beans for red ones (hubs' preference) and ditalini pasta for shells (didn't have the latter variety). My final change was to add a couple handfuls of chopped spinach during the last couple minutes of cooking. Ciabatta rolls and a sprinkling of fresh grated Parm hit the spot! Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe, DOLAN1031! I'm kicking myself for waiting so long to give this a try! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
1st time-Used Jimmy Dean Sweet Italian Sausage and macoroni (which I cooked ahead separately and added after soup was just about finished.) 2nd time-Used Family Foods bulk Italian Sausage & Orzo pasta (which I cooked ahead separately and added after soup was just about finished.) I liked the Jimmy Dean & the Orzo the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!! Boyfriends sister made it for us in California, told me where she got the recipe, so I had to try when we got home. This is fabulous, easy, and hearty! I used 1 lb Italian sausage with 2 links of "spicy" Italian sausage to give it an extra kick, adjusted vegie and spice quantities to compensate and added 1 1/2c uncooked pasta shells. I made extra so we could share with a friend who's girlfriend was OOT, he loved it too! We served it with toasted Bollilo's-MmmmmMmmmm GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States