Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! The only thing I didn't have was the basil. I followed everything else to the T (except I used "hot" italian sausage, not sweet). But it was a delicious dish, smelled great while cooking, and was fast and easy! Couldn't have been more pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I have to thank you for a sensational recipe. This is one of those recipes where if you follow the directions and the ingredient list, it's perfect. I've found on this website, that the simplest recipes many times prove to be the best. I'm not an italian, but is this a great recipe!!! Very important that you find good italian sausage. Find a good italian deli if you're lucky enough to have one nearby. I used mild sausage with the fennel seed inside--a key seasoning in good italian sausage. One other thing though, I cooked everything in a dutch oven on the stovetop, and under low heat I left it on the stove for about 45 minutes, and found that the extra time further reduced and caramelized the onions and the redpeppers, which makes this dish even better. I served it with a side of pasta with my favorite Barilla pasta sauce. It doesn't get any better than this recipe. Thanks for sharing one of your favorite family recipes and spreading the love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
605 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I converted the cooking time for a slow cooker, to be able to return home to a cooked meal. I only had sweet sausage so I added red pepper flakes, to taste. Served on any Italian, hoagie, or hard roll, this is wonderful, and can be topped with mozzarella cheese and broiled until cheese is bubbly and slightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe my husband loves to cook because it's fast and easy. We eat it at least every other week now! I like to serve it over bowtie pasta and sprinkled with lots of parmesan cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This was awesome...I only had red wine on hand but it was the tastiest sausage & pepper recipe I've ever had. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is awesome. It would be great in italian rolls for a hoagie. We had it over pasta and rice, it made a lot of liquid cause I doubled the amount of wine (I didn't think 1/4 cup was going to be enough - but I guess it was) so there was a lot of juice, but I poured most of it off into the rice water so the rice absorbed the flavor too. It was delicious and so easy, kept hubby going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Not sure if my last rating went through, so Ill try again. Great Recipe. Very Tasty. My husband and I are doing a low carb diet so changed it slightly. Used sweet turkey sausage, added a can of diced tomatoes w/ italian seasoning, salt and pepper. did not use the red onion. Also added a pinch of hot pepper spice. VERY YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This recipe was TOO good! The only thing I did was add a little salt and pepper. We loved it and can't wait to make it again - thanks GIGI!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This was excellent. Our family gobbled it all up!! This recipe is definitely a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JET919902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was really good. I used half sweet and half hot sausage. It was also very good on a grinder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States