Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I think every Italian family makes this dish, with slight variations of course, within their own family traditions. While this is a fairly standard way of making sausage and peppers, my family uses olive oil rather than butter, uses little or no herbs (fresh basil is always nice here), red wine rather than white, and some crushed or diced canned tomatoes, or marinara sauce. Great on Italian rolls or over a sturdy pasta. This is always a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
859 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I have to thank you for a sensational recipe. This is one of those recipes where if you follow the directions and the ingredient list, it's perfect. I've found on this website, that the simplest recipes many times prove to be the best. I'm not an italian, but is this a great recipe!!! Very important that you find good italian sausage. Find a good italian deli if you're lucky enough to have one nearby. I used mild sausage with the fennel seed inside--a key seasoning in good italian sausage. One other thing though, I cooked everything in a dutch oven on the stovetop, and under low heat I left it on the stove for about 45 minutes, and found that the extra time further reduced and caramelized the onions and the redpeppers, which makes this dish even better. I served it with a side of pasta with my favorite Barilla pasta sauce. It doesn't get any better than this recipe. Thanks for sharing one of your favorite family recipes and spreading the love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Fabulous! I use beer instead of wine, olive oil instead of butter, and a yellow pepper instead of green. I serve this in rolls and it's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome recipe! My Mom showed me how to make sausage and peppers years ago and while I'm not even Italian I definitely LOVE the food! This is pretty much how my Mom taught me except I don't add the basil or oregano. I aslo fry the veggies in olive oil vs. butter. This is great as a side for angel hair pasta with fresh marinara sauce and Italian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added a can of crushed tomatoes (14.5 oz). Here is the sum of deviations. First, while the sausage is cooking in the skillet, I put the crushed tomatoes in a dutch oven on low. Then when I sliced up the sausage, I added it to the dutch oven. I then did the onions and the garlic, using olive oil instead of butter. Instead of wine, I used an equal amount of beer. At the step where the peppers and onions are tender, I emptied the skillet into the dutch oven, and let everything simmer on low for 1 hour. The last change was that the sauce was a bit loose, so a tablespoon of cornstarch mixed with a tablespoon of water, then added in with everything else. 15 minutes later, done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I've made this at least half a dozen times since I discovered it. I always stick to the mild italian sausage because the results are lovely. I vary the colours of the peppers, depending what's on sale, but always use more than is asked for. It's a very simple recipe, tasty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Yummy! :-) Added some black pepper, sea salt (just a lil), and some extra garlic. I also threw in some fresh sliced mushrooms and roma tomatoes. I did not add the tomatoes until just after I threw the sausage back in the pan. Also added a little olive oil in with the white wine. Made a very nice saucy dish, served this over penne pasta and with some crusty galic bread. A nice change from spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I cut the sausage (used half spicy, half sweet) prior to cooking. (If you cut it slightly frozen, it is much easier to cut without it falling apart, so either don't defrost all the way, or stick into the freezer to slightly freeze) Made these into sandwiches on sub buns and it was excellant! Even more excellant with provolone cheese and creamy italian dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I used a bag of frozen yellow, red, green pepper and onion mix. I added 1 cup of low sodium vegetable broth. I cooked in the crockpot on low for 2 hours. Sliced into 1/2" pieces and used in the Pasta Sausage with Italian Sausage recipe from this site and have used this with the Spanish Rice II recipe. This is one of our favorite meals with with rice, pasta or on rolls with sauce and shredded cheese! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Excellent. We ate this as sandwiches on french bread with marinated cherry tomatoes also from this site and a glass of white wine. My son commented that is was like something you would get from a deli. Update to original review: I make this all the time but I now I always add a can of crushed tomatoes too. They add flavor and body to the sauce. We love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States