Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Not sure if my last rating went through, so Ill try again. Great Recipe. Very Tasty. My husband and I are doing a low carb diet so changed it slightly. Used sweet turkey sausage, added a can of diced tomatoes w/ italian seasoning, salt and pepper. did not use the red onion. Also added a pinch of hot pepper spice. VERY YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Easy to do and great in the crock pot, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This was excellent. Our family gobbled it all up!! This recipe is definitely a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JET919902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This was very good and fairly easy to make. I boiled my sausage first, cut it up into slices then threw it in the pan to brown with 1 onion, a red pepper and a yellow pepper. I didn't use a red onion or a green pepper simply because I didn't have them on hand. I added the seasoning, white wine and a little chicken broth to let it simmer for a few minutes while I boiled elbow macaroni and served the sausage and peppers over the macaroni. Very delicious. Just realized I forgot the garlic! It was delicious without. Will certainly add it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Wanted to try my new grill pan - this recipe worked great! The veggies came out so sweet. I used olive oil instead of butter. Added a little red pepper flake and some salt to taste. We had this on some toasted sourdough rolls, with a salad and some garlic buttered pasta on the side - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is awesome. It would be great in italian rolls for a hoagie. We had it over pasta and rice, it made a lot of liquid cause I doubled the amount of wine (I didn't think 1/4 cup was going to be enough - but I guess it was) so there was a lot of juice, but I poured most of it off into the rice water so the rice absorbed the flavor too. It was delicious and so easy, kept hubby going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was very good insteasd of cutting up the sausage I put it on a roll and it was great the best I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was really lovely. It seems almost too simple, but when it's all done and the peppers are soft, it's real comfort food. Very satisfying. I had only green peppers and yellow onions. I followed everything else as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I have to thank you for a sensational recipe. This is one of those recipes where if you follow the directions and the ingredient list, it's perfect. I've found on this website, that the simplest recipes many times prove to be the best. I'm not an italian, but is this a great recipe!!! Very important that you find good italian sausage. Find a good italian deli if you're lucky enough to have one nearby. I used mild sausage with the fennel seed inside--a key seasoning in good italian sausage. One other thing though, I cooked everything in a dutch oven on the stovetop, and under low heat I left it on the stove for about 45 minutes, and found that the extra time further reduced and caramelized the onions and the redpeppers, which makes this dish even better. I served it with a side of pasta with my favorite Barilla pasta sauce. It doesn't get any better than this recipe. Thanks for sharing one of your favorite family recipes and spreading the love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! The only thing I didn't have was the basil. I followed everything else to the T (except I used "hot" italian sausage, not sweet). But it was a delicious dish, smelled great while cooking, and was fast and easy! Couldn't have been more pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States