Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My family is enjoying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this exactly as is and it is so good. I serve mine on rolls with red wine vinegar and it is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I don't like wasting time on rating recipes with so many other ratings. However, I felt I needed to rate this one. A keeper. I did make some changes, added a large can of diced tomatoes and used fresh herbs. I doubled the recipe. I used a very large skillet pan and the onions looked like a ridiculous amount but yes, it's the right amount. They cook down quickly. I did not add the garlic until way later, after the peppers. (I have a tendency to burn garlic). And I used red wine instead of white, olive oil instead of butter. It was very good. Thanks GIGI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I make sausage & peppers a tad different but, I wanted to try this & I really like it! I did not have red onion or green pepper. I used 2 red peppers instead everything else I kept the same! We ate it over Parmesan white rice because I didn't have rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I also use both hot and mild or sweet sausage combos. I remove the skin from the sausage before I cook it. Natural casing get a bit tough. The sausage hangs together nicely and you end up with nifty bite sized pieces that are surprise packages.Also,a bit of Olive oil doesn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe with some small modifications: I start off with the sauce as directed, but add whatever wine I happen to have. When the peppers and onions are soft I add some marinara sauce, cover the pot, and turn it down to a very slow simmer. At this point I grill the sausages. When they are browned, I put them in with the sauce, cook for a few more minutes and voila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
we love this basic recipe, turns out great every time. we like it over a nice artisan bread slice or two, really soaks up the juices. i'd add a photo but we keep eating it all before i remember to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FearlessKnitter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I added tomatoes because I only has one type of onion. Also added oregano instead of basil. Turned out great. Made rice and Mac and cheese to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
One of our favorites. Easy and delicious. My husband is a picky eater and he rates this in his top 5 favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I like the way the peppers & onions are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States