Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! I served this on rolls and my family ate it up!!!! Will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marquita
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Extremely easy to make! My husband loved it!!! He said the two things he always says when he likes a new dish... "add this to the rotation" and "you should make this for my mom." I used pinot grigio for the wine and it turned out just fine. I would recommend adding a little salt and some red pepper flakes if you like more spice. I would also suggest moving the casings on the italian sausage before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Not a terribly experienced cook, so I follow recipes! This one was really good and very easy. Added just a bit more wine and it made a really good sauce. Served over rice one time and over farfalle pasta another. Kids loved it. (used mild sausage). Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Tried cooking as is, but thought was a bit bland, so I added marinara to the mix which improved taste & texture. Also, I made mine vegetarian using Tofurkey Italian Sausage, but made with regular Italian sausage for hubby & kiddo. Kiddo liked both. I prefer it without pasta, but rest of family wanted pasta. Used fresh basil instead of dried, added cracked red pepper at the table, hubby & kiddo added parmesan cheese. Overall, everyone liked it. Very versatile dish that I enjoy because I can make it vegetarian for me! Would likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was delicious!! My husband even loved it (and he never wants to try anything new)! I did do a little tweaking though. I used 1/2 sweet and 1/2 hot italian sausage. Also, when sausage is almost done browning, I added 2 chicken breasts cut into pieces and cooked through and pulled the sausage and chicken out when sausage was ready for slicing. I added zucchini in with the peppers and doubled the garlic and the wine then after the peppers and onions got soft I added 2 regular sized cans of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil, and oregano. While cooking, I microwaved a baking potato for 5 minutes til almost done then peeled it and chopped into decent sized pieces and mixed in during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Can eat alone or on top of penne or angel hair pasta. Was AMAZING! My husband requests I make this again and my mom wants the recipe already too! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Willis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I do the veggies as following the recipe then add marinara and the sausage to the mix. Serve on hogi style buns with provolone or mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used Italian frying peppers from my CSA and added cherry tomatoes because I'm putting them in just about everything at this time of year when they are still so prolific in the garden. I thought it might have been too dry and a bit bland without them. Perhaps I will take other reviewers' advice and add canned tomatoes if I make it out of tomato season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I used beer instead of wine and olive oil instead of butter... Yummy :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I liked this. It's pretty much as it reads - sausage ... peppers ... onions. Good, but kinda boring. I had to add more wine since it reduced so quickly. Used turkey sausage. No wows, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a pretty quick and easy meal to make, I used red wine instead of white (already had a bottle open). I thought the onion-to-pepper ratio was a bit off, I will use more pepper next time, but I don't eat meat, so I asked my boyfriend for the rating based on taste- 5 stars!! :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States