Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
used Pumpkin beer instead of wine, otherwise made just as the recipe said, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made a few changes to use what I had on hand and make it even easier for me. I had 1 pound of spicy italian sausage I removed the casings and crumbled it up and fried it in the pan. I did not add any butter or oil. I added 1/2 of a red onion and 3 cloves of garlic, red and orange bell peppers and italian seasoning and cut up some tomatoes from the garden and let it cook. Then I added the 1/4 cup of white wine and let it cook a while longer. I thought the recipe had called for tomatos but I guess I got that from reading some of the reviews. It was just a little watery so I mixed up a small amout of corn starch in a little water then put it in to thicken it up. I served it over wheat elbow macaroni and sprinkled parmesan on top. Everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My husband loved this recipe. It seems fairly true to being authentic and each flavor is distinguishable in the dish. I am not a huge fan of sweet sausage, but he is and gave it 5 stars, so I'm rating it accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Gloria Wirhowski
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
WONDERFUL RECIPE!! Only improvised by using beer instead of wine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this twice in the last two weeks for 30-40 people each time. Fantastic reviews. I only use sausage from Sam's Club (Esposito's brand). Several people commented they thought it had been catered. This is the only recipe I'll use and I have passed it on to several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was a good recipe but I think the final results would be determined by the sausage you use. I'm thinking the sausage I used wasn't good enough because it was the store brand. Ill be making this again with specialty sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Fantastic. I've never made sausage and peppers before and have only seen them around cooked in a tomato sauce. I was a little leery but made the recipe as directed and we loved it, as much if not more than the sauced version. We made sure to use a wine we like to drink and the cooking liquid was divine, I may have sipped some off the plate when I was done. This will be a repeat recipe for us, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I make this dish all the time with a few changes recommended by others. I use olive oil and no butter and I use red wine instead of white. I serve with either tubular pasta or with italian bread. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious! Didn't have white wine, so just skipped that step and it was still great! We served it over rice and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Excellent! I made this with no changes. My husband and his brothers ate this up like no tomorrow! Keeper and will made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabasc0Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ford City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States