Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I added two extra sausages and served it on angel hair pasta. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
served over spaghetti squash and replaced wine with ale. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this delicious, quick and simple recipe...we loved it. I didn't put in the butter, just little water to keep it simmering. I also added a can of tomatoes and mushrooms. I added already cooked rigatoni noodles from another meal...Added them to make this an all around great one serving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Fabo! Replaced wine with cooking sherry and it was awesome. Toasted hoagie sandwiches with Dijon mustard tonight and over pasta later in the week. Low fat and healthy too. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My family is enjoying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I don't like wasting time on rating recipes with so many other ratings. However, I felt I needed to rate this one. A keeper. I did make some changes, added a large can of diced tomatoes and used fresh herbs. I doubled the recipe. I used a very large skillet pan and the onions looked like a ridiculous amount but yes, it's the right amount. They cook down quickly. I did not add the garlic until way later, after the peppers. (I have a tendency to burn garlic). And I used red wine instead of white, olive oil instead of butter. It was very good. Thanks GIGI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I make sausage & peppers a tad different but, I wanted to try this & I really like it! I did not have red onion or green pepper. I used 2 red peppers instead everything else I kept the same! We ate it over Parmesan white rice because I didn't have rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I also use both hot and mild or sweet sausage combos. I remove the skin from the sausage before I cook it. Natural casing get a bit tough. The sausage hangs together nicely and you end up with nifty bite sized pieces that are surprise packages.Also,a bit of Olive oil doesn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe with some small modifications: I start off with the sauce as directed, but add whatever wine I happen to have. When the peppers and onions are soft I add some marinara sauce, cover the pot, and turn it down to a very slow simmer. At this point I grill the sausages. When they are browned, I put them in with the sauce, cook for a few more minutes and voila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
we love this basic recipe, turns out great every time. we like it over a nice artisan bread slice or two, really soaks up the juices. i'd add a photo but we keep eating it all before i remember to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FearlessKnitter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States