Italian Sausage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised how good this came out. I did everything by the recipe, but just approximated the sausage (whatever brand I had around), and added a little extra rice and a whole can of chicken broth. Because the okra was fresh, i cooked everything a little bit before i added the rice. I really think you can't mess this one up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was VERY good, and very easy to make. I didn't have okra or celery, so just left it out. I used organic chicken sausage and brown rice also. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent - spiced right and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryse Ownie-Crilly Kloss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This dish was really good! I made a couple of simple changes to suit my family's taste. -I used turkey sausage to cut down the fat and calories. You can get italian turkey sausage at most stores. -I added 2 cups of rice instead of 1/2 cup and doubled the amount of broth. -I didn't put any okra in. -I tripled the amount of hotsauce and used a tsp of crushed chilis too It turned out great, a full meal and nice and spicy like we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janlynt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I cooked this and my husband aI loved it. I think I over cooked mine because the seeds from the okra were everywhere. But over all it was deliciouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
this recipe is great its so easy and versatle. Ididnt put okra but added red bell pepper and garlic everything else the same and my 4 year old asked for seconds!!! try it and mix it up to your own standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
this was very goood, I added two cloves of minced garlic, I used about a cup instead of 1/2 a cup of onion and celery, and I soaked the rice in the chicken broth while I browned the sausage. I used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce (simply because I didn't have hot sauce) and my husband and I both mowed it down. Very very good indeed, I will definitely be making this again. I recommend it for a quick filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Recently married and it has been awhile since I actually cooked for someone. He LOVED it! It was really tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I didn't have the okra or celery, so I added some chopped bell pepper instead. I made it with brown rice (which took longer to cook than the white, I believe, so it was a little al dente) and I used turkey Italian sausage (making it the most healthy I could). I liked this recipe and will make it again, and next time I will soak the brown rice before adding it to the pan so it will be a little softer. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLRYTIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is good. I would cut back on the tomato's next time they were over powering. I dont care for Okra either so I left it out. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaschultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States