Italian Sausage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised how good this came out. I did everything by the recipe, but just approximated the sausage (whatever brand I had around), and added a little extra rice and a whole can of chicken broth. Because the okra was fresh, i cooked everything a little bit before i added the rice. I really think you can't mess this one up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was VERY good, and very easy to make. I didn't have okra or celery, so just left it out. I used organic chicken sausage and brown rice also. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent - spiced right and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This dish was really good! I made a couple of simple changes to suit my family's taste. -I used turkey sausage to cut down the fat and calories. You can get italian turkey sausage at most stores. -I added 2 cups of rice instead of 1/2 cup and doubled the amount of broth. -I didn't put any okra in. -I tripled the amount of hotsauce and used a tsp of crushed chilis too It turned out great, a full meal and nice and spicy like we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janlynt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I cooked this and my husband aI loved it. I think I over cooked mine because the seeds from the okra were everywhere. But over all it was deliciouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
this recipe is great its so easy and versatle. Ididnt put okra but added red bell pepper and garlic everything else the same and my 4 year old asked for seconds!!! try it and mix it up to your own standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
this was very goood, I added two cloves of minced garlic, I used about a cup instead of 1/2 a cup of onion and celery, and I soaked the rice in the chicken broth while I browned the sausage. I used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce (simply because I didn't have hot sauce) and my husband and I both mowed it down. Very very good indeed, I will definitely be making this again. I recommend it for a quick filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Recently married and it has been awhile since I actually cooked for someone. He LOVED it! It was really tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I didn't have the okra or celery, so I added some chopped bell pepper instead. I made it with brown rice (which took longer to cook than the white, I believe, so it was a little al dente) and I used turkey Italian sausage (making it the most healthy I could). I liked this recipe and will make it again, and next time I will soak the brown rice before adding it to the pan so it will be a little softer. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLRYTIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is good. I would cut back on the tomato's next time they were over powering. I dont care for Okra either so I left it out. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaschultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States