Italian Sausage and Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Yummy! I only had two pounds of bulk Italian sausage, so I browned that and actually used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash, along with two cans of stewed tomoatoes. I took other reviewers' suggestions and added some oregano, fresh minced garlic, and I sprinkled some Mrs. Dash Tomato & Basil over the veggies. I served it over Gemelli pasta. I think next time I'm going to thicken it up with a can of tomato sauce, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful! We added extra spice like other reviewers suggested, and used winter squash, carrots, a whole onion, and a few cloves of Garlic. Also we found that afterward we liked it better garnished with a little Feta cheese and some sauerkraut, with a simple Italian salad on the side - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken143
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I thought this was a great idea and it tasted superb! Just a few things I did... I cut my sausage while it was raw. I used 2 regular sized zucchini and 1 reg squash because I love vegetables. I used a purple onion and I chose to season a little with garlic powder, herbs de provence, and italian. I used diced tomatoes since that is usually my preference. I used half of a box of rigatoni. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I used hot & spicy Italian sausage, so it was anything but bland. I had some leftover spaghetti sauce so I used that instead of canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very good and easy recipe! My husband and I both loved it. I did add an eggplant and a green bell pepper because I had them on hand. I also put in a can of canellini beans, but it could have probably used 2 cans. This recipe produced a lot of leftover liquid, so it would also be good served over rice or pasta. Will keep and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe pretty close but made a few modifications. I took the casing off of the Italian sausage links and cooked and crumbled the mixture in the pan then added the zucchini and onion to cook a little bit. I added garlic, salt, and pepper (to taste) to the sausage, onion and zucchini mixture and put the lid on the pan to cook for about 10 minutes. Once I took the lid off I added a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles and some red pepper flakes. I simmered until most of the liquid was gone then I sprinkled with grated Parmesan cheese. OMG...this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I made this with a spicy cajun sausage and served it on rice. It was wonderful. Husband liked it to. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I used diced tomatoes w chiles in it along w a little pasta sauce. Quick n easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I used diced tomatoes with green chillies instead of the stewed tomatoes - delish!! I also added one cube chicken bullion and a whole onion. I served it over rigatoni pasta. My husband ate it all and he NEVER eats veggies. So yummy. Can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I thought this was very good. If you prepare the vegetables ahead of time, this is a quick and easily made meal. I added garlic and Italian seasoning, and used two cans of stewed tomatoes, but it was still missing something. Next time I will add mushrooms, and caramelize the onion. This is an overall good recipe and the tweaking helps. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States