Italian Sausage and Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I would have given this 5 stars however I did add 1 to 2 TBs of fresh basil and maybe 1TB of fresh rosemary. I also didn't add the zucchini & squash until about the last 5 mins while it was simmering so that they didn't get mushy. It was really awesome and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
So easy and fast. Depending on the type of sausage used, it can be rather spicy. Served it over whole wheat penne and the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little sugar to cut down on the acidic tomatoes, and it was fantastic. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Easy to make and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
tasted great! easy to make. went together in minutes. added garlic and onions to brown my meat. used half italian mild sausage and half cajun sausage. sprinkled in some italian seasoning. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My husband loved it. I uses 2 large yellow squashes, 1 green bell pepper, enough tomato sauce to just barely cover the sausages and veggies and a little bit of Swiss chard the last few minutes before serving. Served it over pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Make changes to taste. I used 1 lb. of mild Italian Sausage and 1/2 lb. of ground lean Pork, so I added Italian Seasoning, Fresh Garlic, Crushed Red Pepper, Fresh Cracked Black Pepper and Kosher Salt. I also reversed the quantities of yellow squash to zucchini. I added a 8 oz. can of Tomato sauce w/Basil, Garlic and Oregano. My favorite variation was to serve this over Bowtie Pasta(Farfalle). I used about 1/2 lb. w/this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Yummy! I only had two pounds of bulk Italian sausage, so I browned that and actually used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash, along with two cans of stewed tomoatoes. I took other reviewers' suggestions and added some oregano, fresh minced garlic, and I sprinkled some Mrs. Dash Tomato & Basil over the veggies. I served it over Gemelli pasta. I think next time I'm going to thicken it up with a can of tomato sauce, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful! We added extra spice like other reviewers suggested, and used winter squash, carrots, a whole onion, and a few cloves of Garlic. Also we found that afterward we liked it better garnished with a little Feta cheese and some sauerkraut, with a simple Italian salad on the side - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken143
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I thought this was a great idea and it tasted superb! Just a few things I did... I cut my sausage while it was raw. I used 2 regular sized zucchini and 1 reg squash because I love vegetables. I used a purple onion and I chose to season a little with garlic powder, herbs de provence, and italian. I used diced tomatoes since that is usually my preference. I used half of a box of rigatoni. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States