Italian Sausage and Vegetable Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great taste-nutritious- easy... what more can you ask for? I used hot italian sausage and removed casing and also tossed all in a little olive oil before baking- I also served with couscous instead of polenta. Just a delicious recipe but do not leave the fennel out-- this makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
So I thought I really wouldn't like this recipe very much cuse i don't like cooked tomatoes very much, but i decided to give it a try cause i had most of the ingredients to make it. It's very yummy. It's fast to make and simple. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was great! I roasted everything in a Dutch oven and after roasting cooked it on the stove so that the sauce would thicken a little more. At the very end I added a little cornstarch mixed into some white wine, as one reviewer suggested, and it made the sauce silky smooth and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Carolan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Wonderful and easy! I skipped the fennel and added onion wedges and quartered mushrooms. I let it roast about 5 minutes more for the peppers. For my polenta, I do cornmeal, fat free chicken broth, and 2% milk for a creamy polenta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was a pretty easy meal, and it tasted great too. This is only the second time my wife or I had fennel (the first we had it caramelized with onion, and the flavor practically disappeared), and we're big fans now. I think two bulbs would be overkill (maybe the fennel in Italy is smaller than that in the US), so we only used one bulb of fennel. As much as we try, we're just not big fans of polenta. Next time I'll probably add a bit of white wine and cornstarch to thicken the juices and serve with penne, although a risotto would work pretty well with this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
What a great recipe! I made the basic cheese polenta the night before (from a recipe on here) and then put all of the ingredients in my slow cooker before I left for church. It was so simple! I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I never had polenta before but I'm a huge fan now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We really liked this dish-it was quick and easy, but had lots of flavor. I served mine over polenta-my husband does not like polenta so he ate it over rice and he enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
We love it. I use red and green peppers and onions plus use a can of diced tomatoes just because it's easier but the compliments on this dish are a complete rave. Fixing it for a 2nd time tonight. Don't use the polenta because the picky eaters in my family find that a bit much but with or without this deserves five stars. Thank you/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! Since I was really looking for a way to cook up Italian Sausage I had on hand, I altered the veggies a little - I used a regular tomato, cut, onions, carrots and radish instead of fennel and red peppers but even with the alterations, the juices and the way it all came together was great. I'd love to try it some time with the fennel and peppers, we love finding ways to cook up veggies so our four-year-old will think they're "cool" and this recipe did it! I only went with four stars because I don't quite feel right giving five stars when I didn't cook it the way the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was my first time with polenta and fennel. I initially messed up the polenta to water/broth ratio, but it was an easy fix and came out well. The dish was great as a whole, but I would probably use something in place of the fennel next time - just a personal preference. The roasted peppers and tomatoes with the sausage were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States