Italian Sausage - Tuscan Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe. We're kind of new to sausage making, but this is one of the best we've tried. Good balance of flavor and seasoning. I added a little fennel just because I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
The flavor was good but a bit too salty, probably from the salt in the casing. I used the sausage stufer attachment on my Kitchenaid mixer and it was quite easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Very tasty. We use ground turkey or chicken instead of ground beef. Since beef has more flavor than poultry, I will use this seasoning blend often to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Ver good. Enjoyed the spices, nice flavor. Husband really enjoyed and he is fussy about Italian sausage. Thank you. Update: I made Sweet and Hot meatballs with this sausage and waterchestnuts, with a sweet sauce of maple syrup and cider vinegar. My kids loved this at Thanksgiving as an appetizer and now I am making again for Christmas. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I love the depth of flavor this sausage has. I grind my own pork shoulder because the grocery store's ground pork is always bit and pieces of not very good meat. I added a little basil and oregano for this. Refridgate over night before stuffing so the flavors meld more. Makes divine spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I used ground venison, I forgot to have it made into sausage this year. It turned out GREAT! Used it in biscuits and gravy, and will use it tonight in a stuffed pizza. Added a pinch of Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I used this recipe as a base to make 1lb. of sausage using ground pork (so I reduced all the ingredients by about 1/5th). I couldnt find star anise so I used a couple drops of pure anise oil. It worked great and turned out wonderful! Update: we use this recipe all the time and love it! We just made a "sausage seasoning mix". We bumped the servings up to 40, added 1/2 an anise star (ground in the coffee grinder), added 1t paprika, teaspoon fennel, and doubled the black pepper. We just add 1 heaping tablespoon of the mix to a pound of meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I've tried several recipes for Italian sausage and this one is by far the best. I scale it to one pound of pork, reduce the salt to 1 tsp and add a teaspoon of fennel. Perfect sausage without fillers for half the price! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
wonderful recipe will definitly be a top recipe in my box. I did sub the water for red wine. I didn't have any mace but it's on my list. Thank you for this great one will be used over and oer again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States