Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Absouletly tender ...juicy ....and great tasting ! Reminded Us of porketta roast....but with beef ! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Very tasty. A nice change from other relatively bland roast beef recipes. I did have a prob. w/ the cook time, however; I took the meat out 1 hr. early, & it was still *very* well done. Will have to watch it more closely next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I didn't use the oil but did run olive oil on it as recommended in another review. I was afraid the spiced would be overpowering but they weren't. I cooked this in a crockpot for 8 hours and it was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
this was excellent. the rub seasons the meat to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was great! I had never made a roast before, and was intimidated, but it turned out wonderful. I put it in the crockpot for 7 hours. Made it for my BF for Valentine's Dinner. Try it with 'Red Potatoes with Beans' (also on this site) for a great meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was the best rump roast we ever had in 33 years of marriage. I cooked it stove-top in tightly lidded dutch oven for 6 hours and kept liquid at 1.5 cups by adding water as needed. Only used 1/4 cup oil. Added 1/2 can tomato paste to gravy. Thickened gravy at last minute with 2 T cornstarch. It has to be served in thick slices (3/4"). Do not cut more than you will eat. It can be sliced thinner the next day when cold. If you do not like slightly spicy food use just 1/4 teaspoon pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Really good recipe! I followed it exactly. The beef turns out so flavorful! And it is so easy to make! I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTFETYKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
To be honest, I was a little leary about trying this resipe, due to the amount of spices. I thought it was overdoing it. Boy, was I wrong! This has such a wonderful flavor! And the gravy I make from the drippings is very good as well. All I have to do is thicken it, no seasonings or salt as with a lot of other recipes. I always cook my vegetables with the meat for the last portion of the cooking time and it gives them great flavor. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My husband grew up in Chicago and I made this recipe for him so he could have his beloved Italian Beef sandwiches. Unfortunately, this recipe was a big dud. While it was very tender, it has almost no flavor. I'll keep looking for a good italian roast beef recipe because this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I did not use all the oil called for, just "rubbed" the meat with some olive oil before rolling in the spices. I also cooked mine in the crock pot so the beef ended up being "shredded" when all was said and done. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States