Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was pretty disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and got a chunk of meat that was overcooked and over seasoned. I was looking for something that would be like the Italian style roast beef found in a good deli and this wasn't it. I wasted a perfectly good eye of round roast in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I did this recipe on October 17, 2009. I used Italian seasoning and left out the red pepper flakes and the oil. I browned the beef for about 2 minutes on each side. I used 2 8oz. cans of Swanson Beef Broth and 1 can of water. I added baby red potatoes and baby carrots, with a sweet onion. I cooked on low for 10 hours, and it literally fell apart while I was trying to put it on a plate. Very good meal. I have a 3 year old and an 18 month old who loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marcus, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Way too much seasoning for us! I had cut the oregano and basil down to 1 tablespoon each and still thought it was too much. I had made this in a crockpot and added tomato sauce as someone else suggested. Very tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Absolutely awesome roast, made roast beef sandwiches with mozzarella cheese. The smell while cooking was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie D
Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I can't say enough about this recipe! It's 2 o'clock in the morning and there's one hour left but my son has already been in the dutch oven twice and stolen some of it! It is wonderful! Followed the recipe as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Delicious. Will definitely cook this again. I took advice from other posters and 1)browned the roast first to seal in juices; 2)added Worchestershire sauce; and 3)used two Ziploc bags to coat the roast in olive oil and then roll the roast in the herbs. I cooked it in a slow cooker, for about 6 hours on low. I added potatoes, onions and carrots about 2 hours into the cooking process. Next time, I would add those later, since they were quite soft. As others have said, the gravy is the best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
So good! I make this all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeChelle Koop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Searing the meat on all sides (except fat side) will hold in juices. I rubbed the oil and spices on, seared, then added to crock pot with bullionated water and cooked on low for 10 hrs. S-U-P-E-R ------------------------------------- For oven i would not use a pot too much bigger than the meat. [That will aid in drying the meat before it is fully cooked] You can place meat on a rack or place on top of chopped veggies. Then Rub, sear, and cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was wonderful!!! And it makes the best lunch meat! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
it was so simple but had awesome taste even the next day on a sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States