Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Hello! This is my recipe and I may know why some people are having trouble with this recipe turning out dry. I have cooked this beef for the last 12 years using the same stainless steel pan every time. Last time I made it, I used a Teflon pan and it turned out dry and all of the juices cooked off. This may or may not be the problem. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This roast was absolutely delicious!! I made a few changes though...I added about 2 Tbsp. worchestershire sauce to the water. I also added only 1Tbsp oregano and increased the italian seasoning to 2 Tbsp. I poked holes in the roast and basted it with the juices about every hour or hour and a half. It turned out very juicy. We ate it as an entree the first day, and sliced it for hot roast beef sandwiches the next day. Yum! UPDATE: Due to my DH low cholesterol diet I now make this with only 1 TBSP of olive oil instead of a half cup. It's still very good but a lot less fat. You can also use a venison roast in place of beef (that cuts the fat to almost nothing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
My family & I really enjoyed this one! I started it in the crock pot at noon put it on high & went outside to enjoy the beautiful weather, came in around 3 p.m. turned it to low, added quartered red potatoes, & sliced carrots, YUM! I used "Italian Dressing Mix" (from this site) for the dry italian mix and because that has a significant amount of oregano & basil, I didn't add any extra. I used 1 can of reduced sodium beef broth instead of the water & 2 bouillon cubes and I will cut the oil amount in 1/2 next time because I thought it to be too much. The roast (I did use a rump) came out very tender & juicy, not much left over and I had a 5.5 lb. roast! Will make again! Thanks Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
Very tasty! I wanted something a little different from the ordinary way I prepare a roast and this was it! I added a little dried rosemary to the spices,and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce to the water and beef bouillon, keeping the liquid to 1 1/2 c.What a fabulous aujuice that made! I cooked it all day in the slow cooker,which made it extremely tender. The smell while it cooked was heavenly, and the finished product was deliciuos! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
I adapted this for a crockpot; same recipe, just more time in the cooker (about 10 hours). I also use ziplock bags to coat the roast with oil and seasonings: one bag for each. Then pour part of the beef broth in the seasoning baggie and smush it around. Then pour into cooker. You get all the seasoning this way. Great recipe! Makes terrific sandwiches with the leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
My husband loved this roast sooo much. I made it in a slow cooker @ low setting for 5 hrs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Great Recipe! I used a chuck roast because that was I had on hand. Because chuck is a fattier piece of meat, I omitted the oil. Placed it in a slow cooker instead of on the stove and let it cook on low for 6 hours. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I must admit I was a bit worried that the spices would be too strong. However, it turned out wonderfully. I baked it in a crock pot on low for about 10 hours and it was so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Outstanding recipe, Michelle. We really enjoyed this. I cooked it in the crockpot for 9 hours. I omitted the red pepper flakes, but didn't miss them. I added potatoes and carrots halfway thru the cooking time, then frozen peas during the last 40 minutes. Great meal. And super sandwiches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was amazing. I ended up making a red wine mushroom gravy to go over it and it was one of the best roast beef recipes I have tried. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States