Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My husband grew up in Chicago and I made this recipe for him so he could have his beloved Italian Beef sandwiches. Unfortunately, this recipe was a big dud. While it was very tender, it has almost no flavor. I'll keep looking for a good italian roast beef recipe because this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I did not use all the oil called for, just "rubbed" the meat with some olive oil before rolling in the spices. I also cooked mine in the crock pot so the beef ended up being "shredded" when all was said and done. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I make this recipe in the crock pot. It is fabulous. Even better the next day. I do scrape off alot of herbs before serving. I use the broth to make gravy for a fantastic pot pie to get rid of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Flavor was good, but my piece of meat just wasn't that good. I can't blame the recipe for the meat. I'll retry. Fortunately, this site lets you edit your reviews. I did do a cornstarch and water blend and make a gravy out of the sauce because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was great! I will make again. It called for 1/2 cup oil but I substituted 1/4 cup olive oil and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ville Platte, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I eliminated the salt and the recipe was delicious. The broth had enough sodium and the spices made the recipe flavorful. It isn't bland for those who like flavor, but not salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is fantastic as is! I did try it in the crockpot on low 10hrs. too and it still came out great! My husband asks for this a lot now! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made the roast with no alterations. Awesome au jus with Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe exact, and this was wonderful! Not only is the meat tasty and tender, but it's extremely easy. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States