Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe that I have fixed many times. I have also given the recipe to friends because they liked it so much and were amazed at how easy it was to prepare. Since living in the Middle East, I have also used it to prepare camel which turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I poked holes in the roast beef and pour in juice from crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this roast for Christmas. I cooked it in a crock pot, to free up the stove. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Too dry, and I think I followed the directions OK. The 2nd time I tried this, I used the recipe for Garlic Prime Rib and just cooked it in the oven. That was medium rare and I used the meat slicer to make sandwich cuts. I'll do that again. This particular recipe was tasty but just came out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was pretty disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and got a chunk of meat that was overcooked and over seasoned. I was looking for something that would be like the Italian style roast beef found in a good deli and this wasn't it. I wasted a perfectly good eye of round roast in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I did this recipe on October 17, 2009. I used Italian seasoning and left out the red pepper flakes and the oil. I browned the beef for about 2 minutes on each side. I used 2 8oz. cans of Swanson Beef Broth and 1 can of water. I added baby red potatoes and baby carrots, with a sweet onion. I cooked on low for 10 hours, and it literally fell apart while I was trying to put it on a plate. Very good meal. I have a 3 year old and an 18 month old who loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marcus, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Way too much seasoning for us! I had cut the oregano and basil down to 1 tablespoon each and still thought it was too much. I had made this in a crockpot and added tomato sauce as someone else suggested. Very tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Absolutely awesome roast, made roast beef sandwiches with mozzarella cheese. The smell while cooking was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie D
Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I can't say enough about this recipe! It's 2 o'clock in the morning and there's one hour left but my son has already been in the dutch oven twice and stolen some of it! It is wonderful! Followed the recipe as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Delicious. Will definitely cook this again. I took advice from other posters and 1)browned the roast first to seal in juices; 2)added Worchestershire sauce; and 3)used two Ziploc bags to coat the roast in olive oil and then roll the roast in the herbs. I cooked it in a slow cooker, for about 6 hours on low. I added potatoes, onions and carrots about 2 hours into the cooking process. Next time, I would add those later, since they were quite soft. As others have said, the gravy is the best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States