Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
We loved this recipe and its been requested to be served again. But..next time I will cut the oil to about 1/3rd cup (if that) and half the spices called for. I was really uncomfortable dumping the rest of the oil in the pot as there was still so much left, but I did as the recipe called for. I don't think its needed. The roast fell apart for us..very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Wonderful recipe!! I'm not sure if this was because I used a crock pot (high for 1 hour and low for 7), but this was the most tender and most flavorful roast we have ever eaten!! Will definitely make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I would have given this recipe 5 stars because the spice combo was AWESOME, but I changed the recipe a bit. I omited the water and beef bouillon and roasted the meat in the oven at 325 F instead of boiling in the "kettle". I used all the remaining ingredients, but I cut the dry seasonings into 1/4 of what was called for. I rubbed the meat in the oil and then in the garlic (minced). I mixed all the dry seasonings in a container and then sprinkled them on top of the meat on all sides, patting them down. I placed it fat side up on a rack and roasted it until it was medium (about 2 hours). I paired it up with some garlic mashed potatoes and carrots. I made this for Christmas Eve and my husband asked if it could be our new traditional meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. The preparation is minimal and the only hard part is waiting for it to be ready because it makes the whole house smell so good! This is the only beef roast that my family all loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Very good flavor but make sure you use a tender roast. It is essential for the success of this recipe. The flavor and juices are savory. My kitchen was filled with appetite-inducing aromas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Very good. I made this in the pressure cooker. I increased water to 2 1/2 cups and pressurized under 10lbs for an hour. I then shredded the meat and served with fresh baked italian bread. The whole family loved it. We even ate the leftovers, which is not something we usually do. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
this was so awesome,the whole family loved it, will make again.no need to change anything. thanks michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is absolutely awesome! Very tender and flavorful. The only thing that I do differently is that I brown the beef first and add water with beef buillon diluted in it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prešov, Prešovský Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
My husband is a very "meat and potatoes" kind of man, and I'm always looking for new ways to prepare the things that he likes--he LOVED this. I did add some small red potatoes and carrots about half way through the cooking time, and everything came out wonderfully tender and very flavorful. A quick and easy recipe that tastes absolutely fabulous. This one definitely goes onto the list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This was good. I shreaded it and served as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States