Italian Roast Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I used more garlic, but other than that left it the same. Cooked in in the crockpot on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Too much water, the meat ended up really dry and felt more like boiled beef than roast. It would be better to sear the meat before putting it in the broth mixture. The seasoning, however, was great. I also added some cayenne pepper and mustard seed instead of the red pepper flakes, and fresh basil instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
YUMMY! Instead of using bouillon cubes, I used broth leftover from cooking some brats; omitted the oil and the whole part of coating the roast with oil and spices; I just tossed all of the spices in with the broth in the slow cooker and let it go for 4.5 hours, turning it half way through. So tender and tasty. And yes, it's spicy; but then again the pepper flakes are an optional ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I used Penzey's Italian dressing seasoning for the "Italian seasoning" and Better than Bouillon beef paste at 3 tsp instead of the cubes....THIS WAS SOOOO DELICIOUS! And now has been added to my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTILDA75

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe, but used chuck roast instead and cooked it in a dutch oven. Everyone loved it(I fed 11 people that day) I would suggest using chuck roast as it can handle a long cook time and is has a very beefy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was good, if a little on the strong side. Next time I will probably halve the ingredients for the same size roast so we can taste the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My family loved this recipe. It was fantastic the only thing I changed was I added a cup more water and baked in the oven at 350 uncovered for 4 hours it sliced and looked wonderful. I drained the juice and it made some fantastic gravy! My family rated this recipe "A REPEAT" as they all enjoyed it very much. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Best roast I've ever had. Only thing I do differently is I use a crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
One of the better roast I've had. 2-7-13: Cooked a little longer than it should have, turned out a little dry, but still a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States