Italian Rice Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BellaItalia
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe was phenomenal and as close to being from Italy as you can get this side of the Atlantic. My Nonni, who came to the US during WWII, passed away a few years ago after being diagnosed with Alzheimer's. With her went many recipes including her Rice Pie. I found this recipe and last night I gave it a whirl, altering it only by using orange versus lemon and having to cook the rice a second time with whole milk instead of skim. Using her traditional pie plate, which looks more like a hammered tin bowl with straight sides, this double recipe made one pie. According to the recipe, you leave the pie open faced; her's was covered, so the extra dough was put to use. An hour into cooking, the crust was golden brown and to prevent the burning that many others have complained about, I covered the edge with a paper ring. Out of the oven, the pie smelt "right" and tasted exactly as they remembered. It was creamy and set up perfectly on the first try (my father warned Nonni threw out many of hers due to the center being runny). The crust was a great consistency and paired well with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Simple and full of old world tradition - adding a lttle Ammaretto is a nice touch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made this for the first time today, it took a longer to make than on the recipe but well worth the time. Only thing 1 quart of milk is too much espically if you are using that little rice. I cut it down to 2 cups of milk and it worked great. This tasted just like my mom use to make it brought back a lot of memories. Thans for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Didn't care for crust at all - very thick and dry. Crust did not burn because I covered it during baking. The filling is tasty but also a bit dry, and I cooked the pies 10 minutes less than recipe stated. I will continue to look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
It did take a long time to make in the kitchen. It didn't really take too long to prepare, but it took a long time to bake in the oven. But, it was delicious! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have not finished this recipe yet. The prep time lists 30 minutes. I have been preparing this for over an hour. The rice is still not thickened. If I had known, it would not have been a choice for me. Back to my old Italian Rice Cake. I am sure it will taste great, as I have been cooking for a very long time--but too much time in the kitchen. I will probably use the crust recipe though. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My husband and I fell in love with an store bought Italian Rice pie when we lived in NJ. I found this recipe and decided to surprise my husband with it for Easter. It was a hit! I didn't make the pie crust this time, but will defintely give it a try. While the recipe turned out great, I would like to suggest that a time frame be put in Step 2. The recipe reads "until mixture thickens." Not having cooked a recipe like this before, I had no idea how long to cook it. A time frame would have been helpful, as a guide at least. But this is a new family favorite, sure to grace our table time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I first want to say that there is no way this recipe takes 30 minutes to prepare...more like 3 hours!! It is still in the oven; it's only been in the oven for an hour and the crust has already burned. Perhaps the people who have had great success with this recipe know what to do so that their crust is not burning and hopefully can share with the rest of us I had to take them out and try and wrap foil aroung the crust to pretect it but that is no easy task when something has already been baking for an hour. I guess protect it from the get-go?I also want to note that once the milk goes in with the rice it takes at least 30 minutes if not a bit more for it to thicken enough for use. I hope it tastes better than it looks right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Well, it's finally in the oven. It looks a little thin despite following the recipe, hopefully it does thicken. I was very confused by the sugar and the eggs - because I didn't see the 3 eggs listed, both the crust and the filling ended up with 6 eggs each! I didn't want to guess after I'd already done the crust so I added 6 eggs to the filling too. I'm just hoping this cooks up right after all the work I put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great pie - love that it makes two at once! One question - the ingredients list for the crust calls for 1/4 cup sugar, but the directions refer to 1/2 cup. I found the 1/4 cup to be fine, but just wanted to check and ask which is correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States